The Classics Club: Spin #3

The Classics Club #1

“Good morning, Clubbers!

It’s time for another Classics Spin for any who are interested. What is the spin?

It’s easy. At your blog, by next Monday, Aug 19, list your choice of any twenty books you’ve left to read from your Classics Club list – in a separate post.

This is your Spin List. You have to read one of these twenty books in August & September. (Details follow.) So, try to challenge yourself. For example, you could list five Classics Club books you are dreading/hesitant to read, five you can’t WAIT to read, five you are neutral about, and five free choice (favourite author, rereads, ancients — whatever you choose.)

Next Monday, we’ll post a number from 1 through 20. The challenge is to read whatever book falls under that number on your Spin List, by October 1. We’ll have a check in when October arrives, to see who made it the whole way and finished the spin book”

I wasn’t able to take part in the first Classic Club Spin but I was able to take part in the second spin. My choice was Bleak House by Charles Dickens. While I didn’t quite finish Bleak House on time to post about it on the 1st July I did really enjoy reading it. Since then I have been eagerly awaiting the next spin and it has arrived! I have used my list from last time to which I have made some minor alterations to replace those books now read. Here is my Spin List:

  1. His Last Bow by Arthur Conan Doyle
  2. Mansfield Park by Jane Austen
  3. Robinson Crusoe by Daniel Defoe
  4. Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll
  5. A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens
  6. The Tenant of Wildfel Hall – Anne Brontë
  7. The Pickwick Papers by Charles Dickens
  8. The Wonderful Wizard of Oz by L Frank Baum
  9. The Three Musketeers by Alexandre Dumas
  10. Cranford by Elizabeth Gaskell
  11. The Jungle Book by Rudyard Kipling
  12. The Hound of the Baskervilles by Arthur Conan Doyle
  13. War of the Worlds by H G Wells
  14. The Time Machine H G Wells
  15. The Wind in the Willows by Kenneth Grahame
  16. Around the World in Eighty Days by Jules Verne
  17. Journey to the Center of the Earth by Jules Verne
  18. Twenty Thousand Leagues Under the Sea by Jules Verne
  19. The Railway Children by E Nesbit
  20. The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett

Purple = Classics I can’t wait to read.
Red = Classics I am hesitant to read.
Blue = Classics I’m neutral about.
Green = Classics I don’t own a copy of yet.

I am again rather nervous and excited about which book I will end up reading! Wish me luck! I will post an update with the results on Monday.

Are you taking part in the Classics Club Spin?

15 thoughts on “The Classics Club: Spin #3

  1. I have Mansfield Park on my spin list too. I read His last bow recently and enjoyed it, and can highly recommend The Tennant of Wildfell Hall – it is wonderful. Good luck with the spin.

    1. Thank you Ali. I’m glad to hear positive things from you about three of the books on my list. Makes me feel less worried about getting a book which isn’t one of my purple choices.

  2. Hope the spin lands on purple for you although you have lots of other great choices listed. The Tenant of Wildfell Hall is a favourite of mine.

    1. Hello Cat, thank you for stopping by and commenting. It is always lovely to hear from a new face :-) I have good things about The Tenant of Wildfel Hall the only reason it is not a purple choice itself it because I don’t own a copy!

  3. Frankly you’ve got a lot of good books on here and from my reading experience I think you’ll like most of them although I would definitely be hesitant about Pickwick Papers and War of the Worlds.
    Lynn :D

  4. Good luck!
    I love the classics spin, even though my first experience wasn’t good. But it makes you wait for the Monday ;)

  5. Yay! I hope you get to read the ones you secretly wish too :)
    I also have A Tale of Two Cities and The Three Musketeers on my list, but I didn’t include it for the spin. I’m scared I get the Dumas one… too long :D

    1. Thank you Melinda. I sympathise I am hesitant about getting The Three Musketeers as it is so long and also a translated novel!

      It would have been really nice if we’d had The Secret Garden on the same number, and then if that number was picked :-D

  6. Exciting, I hope you get to read one of your purple ones!

    I read Robinson Crusoe for University, it was hard, I understand why you are hesitant. The Secret Garden is amazing as it The Hound of the Baskervilles; after watching the Judy Garland film, I should have known that The Wizard of Oz would not have interested me in the same way.

Leave a Reply

