New Read: The Dragondain

The Dragondain

On the train home from my Christmas break with my mother I looked through my kindle files for a light read to occupy my time. Over the last few months I have had a real craving for historical fiction, however this is not always the lightest read. Instead I was drawn towards The Dragondain by Richard Due the second instalment of the children’s fantasy series The Moon Realm. I found the first instalment to be a delightful little book so thought the next instalment might be a fun and easy read for a long journey.

The Dragondain is the second instalment of The Moon Realm series. This post may contain spoilers for the previous instalment.

Through-out their childhood siblings Lily and Jasper Winter have been enthralled by Uncle Ebb’s bedtime stories about ‘The Moon Realm’. In these stories they heard about thrilling adventures and wars that involved dragons, lunamancers, mermaids, talking birds, the lion-like Rinn, knights, and much, much more! When their Uncle Ebb mysteriously disappears though Lily and Jasper discover that his stories are actually real. Using Uncle Ebb’s magical necklace ‘The Moon Coin’ the siblings start to visit the moons from their bedtime stories in search of him. I think Due’s ‘The Moon Realm’ is a beautiful creation, it is colourful, detailed, and full of interesting characters and creatures; which is complimented beautifully by Carolyn Arcabascio’s wonderful illustrations.

In The Moon Coin we were introduced to both siblings but most of the narration was done by Lily, while in The Dragondain the narration is split between Lily and Jasper. I prefered this because as interesting as Lily is she can be rather stubborn and angst filled. Jasper on the other hand felt slightly more sensible and cool-headed. Hearing from both of them meant I felt we got a nice balance of characters. As Lily and Jasper continue their exploration of ‘The Moon Realm’ in The Dragondain I found there was a lot more names and places to remember than in The Moon Coin. The more Lily and Jasper learn the more we are exposed to which of course makes for a more interesting story. Fortunately you don’t have to remember everything because the siblings often makes notes and repeat information to each other.

The Dragondain is a magical adventure in a colourful fantasy world. It is an easy read that I would recommend for children and adults a like. I am hoping I won’t have to wait long for another instalment from The Moon Realm.

I received a free copy of The Dragondain from the author in exchange for my honest opinion.

Are you reading The Moon Realm series? Any recommendations of other fantasy series?

Previous instalments of The Moon Realm series:
1. The Moon Coin

4 thoughts on “New Read: The Dragondain

  1. Very nice post. Lovely blog.

    My featured book on Carole’s post is SEVEN LOCKS.

    Stopping by from Carole’s January Books I Loved. I am in that list as # 46.

    Elizabeth
    Silver’s Reviews
    My Blog

Leave a Reply

