Top 10 Reads of 2012

Blog 2012

At the beginning of the year I did a meme post reflecting back on what I’d read in 2012. Looking around at other blogs I saw a lot of people doing more detailed top 10 posts. 2012 was such a good reading year for me I decided this would be the best time to try doing a top 10 post. After much deliberation here are my choices in no particular order:

Little Women by Louisa May Alcott      The Classics Club     Fiction     Classics
I’m sorry if you are a little bored with me talking about this book but I really think it was an utterly charming read which deserves all this talk. Before reading Little Women I imagined it would be a sweet tale. On reading it I discovered that is was very touching, thought-provoking, and also rather inspirational.

Oliver Twist by Charles Dickens          The Classics Club     Fiction     Classics
I can’t believe it took me this long to read this novel but am so glad I got round to it in 2012. Oliver Twist is a wonderfully touching and insightful fictional look into a world gone by. I especially enjoyed all the colourful characters that Oliver meets along the way.

The Rose Garden by Susanna Kearsley          New Read     Fiction     Historical
Kearsley was a new author for me and I would say the best find of 2012. I can’t wait to read more of her work. As for The Rose Garden I thought it was a beautiful novel of love, friendship, family and death with a wonderful historical adventure woven into it.

Untying the Knot by Linda Gillard          New Read     Fiction     Women’s Literature
Gillard is a well-loved author of mine now. In 2012 I read two of her novels both of which I enjoyed but Untying the Knot stood out the most for me. I thought it was well-written, intelligent, witty, dramatic, but also had some real substance to it.

The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes by Arthur Conan Doyle   The Classics Club   Fiction   Short Stories
Previous to 2012 I had read A Study in Scarlet and found my return to Doyle’s well-loved sleuth rather comforting. I thought The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes was a fascinating read with an interesting mix of adventures to discover. I also loved the short story format.

The Hobbit by J R R Tolkien          Re-Read     Fiction     Children’s Fantasy
While there are many novels I have loved, the one I return to over and over again is The Hobbit. I take deep comfort from the magical otherworldly atmosphere of the story itself but also from the cherished childhood memories I have of my father reading this to me at bedtime. I think it is the archetypal fantasy adventure.

On Writing by Stephen King          New Read     Non-Fiction     Memoir
I wasn’t ever that drawn to King’s horror books but I did work my way through his epic fantasy series The Dark Tower. I found On Writing utterly fascinating. If you are a bit of a fan of King’s work this book is a great insight into the mind of a legend.

The Moon Coin by Richard Due          New Read     Fiction     Children’s Fantasy
Due was also a new author for me. The Moon Coin was a simple, but heart-warming adventure in a magical world that I just couldn’t put down. The Moon Realm was one of my favourites series I discovered in 2012. I have already read the second instalment The Dragondain earlier this year.

Mrs Beeton’s Book of Household Management   New Read   Non-Fiction   Domestic History
This is probably an unusual choice, I’ve actually surprised myself. Mrs Beeton’s Book of Household Management is old-fashioned, rather out of style, and contains advice you probably shouldn’t try at home anymore but it is an amazing window back in time.

The Last Hero by Terry Pratchett          New Read     Fiction     Fantasy
Pratchett is another well-loved author of mine. In 2012 I read two of his novels both of which I loved but The Last Hero was narrowly my favourite. The Last Hero is a short novel (my copy is mainly taken up with wonderful large illustrations) which was a nice easy read and it really cheered me up. Another very funny addition to the Discworld series.

With 2012 being such a good year for me reading wise it was quite hard whittling down my list to just 10. Other close contenders were Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen, Midnight Sun, Arctic Moon by Mary Albanese, The Deathly Portent by Elizabeth Bailey, and Treasure Island by Robert Louis Stevenson. I think it is probably a very good thing that I had so many books to choose from.

What were your favourite reads of 2012?

14 thoughts on “Top 10 Reads of 2012

  1. I love Little Women too and would like to re-read it soon as it’s been too long since I last read it! Oliver Twist is on my list for the Classics Club and I’m hoping to get to it sometime this year.

  2. Great list, Jessica, and I can see why they were favourites (especially the classics as I know more about them). You’re right, it is a good thing that you had many to choose from!

  3. Such a good list. I also picked up something from Susanna Kearsley (not sure if it was last year though??) The Winter Sea. Enjoyable. She’s a nice writer with an easy to read style.
    Lynn 😀

Leave a Reply

