The Classics Club: The Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes

The Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes

I have been ploughing on with my new-found love for short story collections in 2013. At the end of 2012 I read and adored The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes by Arthur Conan Doyle. I adored it so much that I immediately started another of Doyle’s collection, The Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes. The weather has taken a bitter turn here in the UK. Most nights I have been very keen to tuck myself in bed and lose myself in a mystery, hence me having finished off another collection so soon.

The Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes is a collection made up of the next twelve Sherlock Holmes short stories Arthur Conan Doyle wrote and had published in The Strand. The most famous story from the collection would have to be The Final Problem where we see our intrepid sleuth take on his finest nemesis Professor Moriarty. I very much enjoyed The Final Problem as well as The Stock-Broker’s Clerk, The Musgrave Ritual, and The Naval Treaty. That being said again there were no stories in this collection I didn’t enjoy, they were all fascinating, the four I have named though particularly captured my attention.

Like The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes collection, The Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes had a good range of stories which were varied and well-balanced. There was also the wonderful chemistry between his two protagonists that I love to witness during the intricate mysteries. I did find I was most drawn to Holmes’s companion Dr Watson in this collection more than the previous. In The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes I discovered there was a more sympathetic side to Holmes while in this collection I think we saw more of his unusual behaviour again. I imagine that difference is just down to the choice of stories in each collection.

I am still preferring reading the short story collections of Sherlock Holmes, as the shorter length of the stories means I can easily keep the thread of the mystery and fully enjoy all the twists and turns, without the worry of needing a break. Although I did find the length of the stories in The Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes varied more with The Naval Treaty being a lot longer than the rest of the stories in the collection. While the stories in The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes were of a more standard length. As much as I enjoyed both collections I think The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes just has the edge for me because of the standard length of the stories and how I think the choice of stories slightly captured my imagination more.

The Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes was another fascinating read with more interesting adventures for me to discover. This is now my 9th read from my Classics Club list which means I am well on my way to my target of 10 books a year. On finishing this collection I started The Complete Brothers Grimm’s Fairy Tales for a bit of a change, although I hope I will be able to return to Sherlock Holmes again very soon.

Have you read The Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes? What’s your favourite Sherlock Holmes story?

20 thoughts on “The Classics Club: The Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes

  1. I’m glad you enjoy Holmes so far, but you’re not a true Sherlockian until you’ve read all of the ACD canon. 😉 I hope you like Baskervilles; it’s the best of the novels. I really love the canon as a whole and listened to most of the stories in a wonderful audiobook collection some years ago. Jessica, are you on GoodReads? I was hoping to add you since I find it easier keep up with someone’s reading on that site. Hope you had a great weekend!

    1. Thank you Athena, I am very much looking forward to reading all of Doyle’s Sherlock Holmes stories. I’m afraid I’m not on GoodReads, this blog is the only place I post about books just want to keep things simple for myself.

      1. I understand. I only really use it as a way to organise my books and to see what my friends are reading at any given time. Have a good week!

    1. The Red-Headed League is a great choice Anbolyn, I read that in The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes. I know, I know I really do want to read The Hound of the Baskervilles hopefully be able to get a copy of it sometime this year 😀

  2. I’m slowly reading A Study in Scarlet right now — and I’ve read Arthur Conan Doyle’s The Lost World. Quite good!! I believe I like Doyle. 🙂

    1. Hello Jess, thank you for stopping by and commenting. Lovely to hear from someone else who’s just discovering Sherlock Holmes too. I haven’t read The Hound of the Baskervilles but have heard great things about it. I hope you enjoy the rest of it 🙂

  3. Sherlock Holmes! I fell in love with the character – it was more cerebral than romantic – when I was in middle school and I’ve read all the stories at least once. One of my favorite stories is “The Empty House” because he comes back “from the dead!” 😀 I got inordinately emotional after reading “The Final Problem” when I was about 12, not realizing that it wasn’t actually his final story…

Leave a Reply

