The Classics Club: One Year Gone

The Classics Club #1

Start Date: 19th March 2012

End Date: 19th March 2017

As they say time flys by when you’re having fun and that definitely applies to The Classics Club. Part of me can’t believe I joined back in March 2012 which now means a whole year has gone by! Here’s what I have read off my list in that year:

  1. Treasure Island by Robert Louis Stevenson
  2. Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte
  3. Wide Sargasso Sea by Jean Rhys
  4. Little Women by Louisa May Alcott
  5. Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen
  6. Oliver Twist by Charles Dickens
  7. Aesop’s Fables
  8. The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes by Arthur Conan Doyle
  9. The Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes by Arthur Conan Doyle
  10. The Children of the New Forest by Frederick Marryat
  11. Great Expectations by Charles Dickens

Read: 11/50

I am so pleased with my progress so far. 11 books is just over the average of 10 books I need to read to keep on track to manage to read 50 books altogether. All of the books above I have posted my thoughts on, please click on the titles to be taken to my full posts. A list of books/links though isn’t that interesting so I decided to adapt the meme questions I use for my end of year posts to reflect on what classics I have been reading.

Most Anticipated:

  • Jane Eyre
  • Pride and Prejudice
  • Oliver Twist

Most Beautifully Written: Pride and Prejudice

Most Disappointing: Jane Eyre

Most Surprising (In A Good Way!): Little Women

Most Memorable Character/s:

  • Joe Gargery and Miss Havisham from Great Expectations,
  • Long John Silver from Treasure Island
  • Holmes and Watson from The Adventures and Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes
  • Fagin from Oliver Twist
  • Elizabeth and Mr Darcy from Pride and Prejudice

Most Recommended-to-Others:

  • The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes
  • Little Women
  • Oliver Twist

Favourite New Authors Discovered: Louisa May Alcott

Multiple Reads of an Author: Charles Dickens (2) and Arthur Conan Doyle (2)

Ambitions for 2013/2014: Pretty much to continue as I am. I am impressed with the amount I read in my first year and if I could match that for the coming year I would be very happy with myself. I am particularly looking forward to reading more Jane Austen, Charles Dickens, and Arthur Conan Doyle. Plus who knows what new authors I will fall in love with. Wish me luck!

What classics have you enjoyed over the last year? Any recommendations what I should read next?

21 thoughts on “The Classics Club: One Year Gone

  1. Catching up on your Blog and this classics club just reminded me of our lists of books to read before we die. I should find that sometime.
    But back on topic, Sad that you didn’t like Jane Eyre I have to agree though she is quite frustrating.
    There’s a lot on the list that I want to re-read or read the full version as I read most of them abridged as a child/teen.

    1. Thank you Karen. I’m afraid it was the character of Jane that let down Jane Eyre for me. I found her really frustrating! You’ll have to read my full thoughts on Jane Eyre because there was much I liked about it too. I’ve read your review of Little Dorrit already. I’m glad you enjoyed it. I have it on my Classics Club list and I am definitely looking forward to reading it.

  2. How I wish I could join this. However, reading classics take a lot of time for me so I just promise to myself to read at least five classics a year. Still better than nothing 🙂

  3. If you really enjoyed Little Women, you might enjoy her other series as well. I get the titles muddled, but I think it begins with An Old-Fashioned Girl and continues with Rose in Bloom. Er, maybe that’s two different series, actually, because I think Eight Cousins should be in there somewhere. Well, the thing is, they’re nice girl-soaked stories and that does find them blurring together a bit, but in a good way, so if you like one…. *grin* (Congrats on reading so many classics and besting your plans!)

  4. Congrats on a year! I was also pleasantly surprised by Louisa May Alcott! I’d read Little Men at some point in my childhood, but I didn’t remember any of it and loved reading the entire trilogy! I’m sad Jane Eyre wasn’t what you expected, but it is one of those hit or miss books. Have you read Wuthering Heights or any of Anne’s novels yet?

    1. Thank you Geoff 🙂 Yes I was upset that Jane Eyre didn’t really do it for me especially as I’d read Wuthering Heights and loved it! I still have the rest of Anne’s novels on my list so maybe I’ll better luck with them.

Leave a Reply

