The Classics Club: Spin #2

The Classics Club #1

“Good morning, Clubbers!

It’s time for another Classics Spin for any who are interested. What is the spin?

It’s easy. At your blog, by next Monday, May 20, list your choice of any twenty books you’ve left to read from your Classics Club list – in a separate post.

This is your Spin List. You have to read one of these twenty books in May & June. (Details follow.) So, try to challenge yourself. For example, you could list five Classics Club books you are dreading/hesitant to read, five you can’t WAIT to read, five you are neutral about, and five free choice (favourite author, re-reads, ancients — whatever you choose.)

Next Monday, we’ll post a number from 1 through 20. The challenge is to read whatever book falls under that number on your Spin List, by July 1. We’ll have a check in post for July, to see who made it the whole way and finished the spin book”

I wasn’t able to take part in the first Classic Club Spin and I really felt like I missed out, so this time I was determined to make time for it. Here is my Spin List:

  1. Northanger Abbey by Jane Austen
  2. Mansfield Park by Jane Austen
  3. Robinson Crusoe by Daniel Defoe
  4. Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll
  5. A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens
  6. Bleak House by Charles Dickens
  7. The Pickwick Papers by Charles Dickens
  8. The Wonderful Wizard of Oz by L Frank Baum
  9. The Three Musketeers by Alexandre Dumas
  10. Cranford by Elizabeth Gaskell
  11. The Jungle Book by Rudyard Kipling
  12. The Hound of the Baskervilles by Arthur Conan Doyle
  13. War of the Worlds by H G Wells
  14. The Time Machine H G Wells
  15. The Wind in the Willows by Kenneth Grahame
  16. Around the World in Eighty Days by Jules Verne
  17. Journey to the Center of the Earth by Jules Verne
  18. Twenty Thousand Leagues Under the Sea by Jules Verne
  19. The Railway Children by E Nesbit
  20. The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett

Purple = Classics I can’t wait to read.
Read = Classics I am hesitant to read.
Blue = Classics I’m neutral about.
Green = Classics I don’t own a copy of yet.

I am rather nervous and excited about which book I will end up reading! Wish me luck!

Are you taking part in the Classics Club Spin #2?

20 thoughts on “The Classics Club: Spin #2

  1. How do you feel about reading a classic if you’ve already seen the film? I’m always a bit hesitant at read a book if I’ve read the film (or visa-versa).

    1. Nikki-Ann I don’t mind which way round I come to a classic, film or book first is fine by me although it is nice to discover a classic through the novel first 🙂

  2. Why are you hesitant about the Dumas? I really like his works, but I didn’t read any of the Musketeer sequels. The plots didn’t really look enticing (maybe some days), but Count of Monte Cristo is one of my favourite books of French Lit. If you get the Mansfield Park, you can follow it up with NA because the latter is much lighter and shorter. MP is a bit dour at times which NA is the most satirical of Jane’s novels. I hope you like Cranford; it was my first Gaskell and I was won over so much by her style and storytelling. Have fun!

    1. Thank you Athena. I am hesitant about Dumas because it is a translated work and also it is one of the longest on my list, but I am looking forward to the story 🙂

    1. Thank you Charlie! Part of me doesn’t want a red so I can read something I’m really looking forward too. The other part of me wants a red because it will give more incentive to read them.

    1. Thank you JoV I have received your book. I was also happy to place books on my list that I didn’t own because I knew it should be easy to download them onto my kindle. Sometimes it is good to read books you are hesitant about. Pushes your boundaries and you might find a gem you hadn’t thought you’d love! I’m sure you’ll do great with your list.

  3. All my classic list looks like a list that I am hesitant to read! LOL
    For books you don’t have, you can download them for free on Amazon. Have you receive my book yet?

  4. I almost put Cranford on my list, but decided against it at the last minute since my copy contains all of the chronicles. I love that you have children’s classics on your list – what a great idea! I’ll have to add them next time. Good luck!

  5. Good luck! I hope you get one of your purple books and not red (though I do love The Three Musketeers). Numbers 14 and 16 are on my list too and I feel a bit hesitant about both of them!

  6. Yes, I am taking part for my first time!
    I don’t have any of your books on my list, neither have I read them! But all of them looks great; someday I have to try HG Wells.
    Good luck with the number!

Leave a Reply

