Goodbye 2013, Hello 2014

Blog 2013

Happy New Year! It is time to say goodbye to 2013 and hello to 2014. Hasn’t this year just flown by? I think I blinked and managed to miss a lot of it. Looking over my end of year reading stats I have much to be pleased with:

Books Read: 73           New Reads: 66              Re-Reads: 7

Fiction: 46                Non-Fiction: 26              Poetry: 1

In 2012 I finished 49 books of which only 5 were non-fiction. From the numbers above I think we can safely say my goal to read more non-fiction was a great success. I have also increased my number of re-reads and stuck more with author’s I have enjoyed too:

Multiple Reads of an Author: Mark Black (6), C S Lewis (6), Tara Maya (5), Charles Dickens (3), Lewis Carroll (2), Arthur Conan Doyle (2), James Long (2), George R R Martin (2), T S Wisemen (2)

Now for some fun meme questions I have used since I started this blog many moons ago to help me reflect on what I’ve been reading in 2013:

  1. Best: Ferney by James Long and A Clash of Kings by George R R Martin
  2. Worst: Victorian Country House by Mark Black
  3. Most Disappointing: The Zombie Playground by Brian Rowe
  4. Most Surprising (In A Good Way!): A Street Cat Named Bob by James Bowen
  5. Most Recommended-to-Others: A Game of Thrones by George R R Martin and A Street Cat Named Bob by James Bowen
  6. Best Series You Discovered: The Song of Ice and Fire by George R R Martin
  7. Favourite New Authors Discovered: James Long and George R R Martin
  8. Most Hilarious: Blithe Spirit by Noel Coward
  9. Most Thrilling, Unputdownable: A Game of Thrones and A Clash of Kings by George R R Martin
  10. Most Anticipated: The Wind Through the Keyhole by Stephen King
  11. Favourite Cover: Murder on the Orient Express by Agatha Christie and Northanger Abbey by Jane Austen
  12. Most Memorable Character: Joe Gargery from Great Expectations by Charles Dickens and Tyrion from The Song of Ice and Fire series by George R R Martin
  13. Most Beautifully Written: Ferney by James Long
  14. Had the Greatest Impact: Trusting God: Even When Life Hurts by Jerry Bridges
  15. Can’t Believe You Waited Until 2013 to Read: Great Expectations and A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens

It was very hard to pick just one or two for each question. There are plenty more wonderful authors and books that I read in 2013 which didn’t manage to make it into this meme but not to worry I will doing further in-depth posts on my favourite reads of 2013 soon.

Ambitions for 2014: My only real aim is to continue as I am. I love the fact I have made more time in my life for non-fiction and re-reads and I would really like to keep this up.

How was 2013 for you? What are your aims for 2014?

24 thoughts on “Goodbye 2013, Hello 2014

  1. Ooh, I should do “Favorite Cover” next year…I probably won’t remember by December, but maybe!

    Congrats on your good reading for the year! I’ve been enjoying your C. S. Lewis reviews very much especially. 🙂

  2. Good set of reading stats!

    I have just written my yearly roundup post – much more difficult than I thought. Probably that is why I enjoy the monthly posts more.

  3. That is indeed a good statistic for the non-fiction! It is for the increase in reading overall, too, but for the non-fiction it’s particularly good. Happy new year!

  4. Happy New Year!
    wow! you had a great reading year!… congrats on it! I only read 53 but I feel good about it. I see you had multiple read on Lewis Carroll.. I have his bio in my piles of books.. i need to get to it!

  5. Happy New Year, Jessica, and what a fun way to look back on your reading. Maybe 2014 will be the year I finally read A Game of Thrones!

    1. Thank you Helen. I always find reflecting on a whole year rather hard so I’m really pleased you found this fun. I hope you have the chance to read A Game of Thrones in 2014 I would love to hear your thoughts on it.

Leave a Reply

