Top 10 Fiction of 2013

Blog 2013

2013 was a great reading year for me with an increased number of books finished to 2012. With such a large amount of great books read I have decided to do separate top 10 posts for fiction and non-fiction for 2013. Here is my top 10 fiction:

Great Expectations by Charles Dickens     The Classics Club     Classics
A charming and exciting journey seen through the eyes of young orphan trying to find himself and make his way in Victorian England. I loved all Dickens’s colourful characters.

Bleak House by Charles Dickens     The Classics Club     Classics
A mysterious and thrilling look into the light and dark aspects of Victorian London. I loved all the twist and turns and of course all Dickens’s colourful characters.

A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens     The Classics Club     Classics
A slightly creepy but warm-hearted tale of redemption that was perfect for my Christmas holiday. It was refreshing to see Dickens focus more intently on one character.

The Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes by Arthur Conan Doyle     The Classics Club     Classics
Another fascinating collection of Sherlock short stories with more interesting adventures, murders and characters for me to discover.

The Glass Guardian by Linda Gillard     New Read     Women’s Literature
Another beautiful tale of the love, life, and history of a strong woman from Linda Gillard. I enjoyed the supernatural twist in this one.

The Wind Through the Keyhole by Stephen King     New Read     Fantasy
An enthralling adventure into a dark fantasy and fairy tale world. This was a highly anticipated read for me after finishing the original series and it didn’t disappoint.

Ferney by James Long     New Read     Modern Literature
An enchanting journey through the unusual love, lives and history of Ferney and Gally. I thought this was a really beautifully written book.

A Game of Thrones by George R R Martin     New Read     Fantasy
An excellent example of epic/high fantasy chock full of adventure, battles, intrigue, murder and secrets.

A Clash of Kings by George R R Martin     New Read     Fantasy
Another excellent example of epic/high fantasy chock full of adventure, battles, intrigue, murder and secrets. I’m excited to read more of the series.

The Doll by Daphne du Maurier     New Read     Short-Stories
A beautiful, honest, and chilling collection of short stories. There is a story here for everyone. Reminded me I really need to read more du Maurier.

While I read and enjoyed many books this year I didn’t find it quite as hard as I thought I would to whittle my down to 10. I am pleased to see multiple novels off my Classics Club list and more than one novel by Charles Dickens and George R R Martin. There are a few other books which could have deserved a mention here but I really do think that the 10 above are the one’s that shone out from the year.

What shone out for you in 2013?

22 thoughts on “Top 10 Fiction of 2013

  1. I’m a fan of Du Maurier, so I should try her short stories. You’ve had a good reading year where classics are concerned. Nice Dickens fix you have there! 🙂

  2. I read Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes a couple years ago and really enjoyed it as well; it and The Hound of the Baskervilles are my favorite Holmes books so far. But this year, my favorite reads were Anne Brontë’s The Tenant of Wildfell Hall and Daphne du Maurier’s My Cousin Rachel. I actually have a copy of The Doll and having been thinking of starting it soon because I’ve recently grown to love du Maurier’s writing.

    1. Natalie I really look forward to reading The Hound of the Baskervilles and The Tenant of Wildfel Hall which are both on my Classics Club list. I would really like to read My Cousin Rachel too! I hope you have time to read The Doll very soon 🙂

  3. I loved Great Expectations and A Christmas Carol too, though I struggled a bit with Bleak House. I haven’t read any of the others on your list but I really want to read The Doll as I love Daphne du Maurier!

    1. Christy I haven’t read Our Mutual Friend being pretty new to Dickens I chose to put some of his more obvious works on my Classics Club list. If I continue to enjoy his work though I’ll be sure to keep Our Mutual Friend in mind to move on to next.

    1. Thank you for stopping by and commenting. It is always lovely to hear from a new face. I hope you have a chance to read some of the books you’ve been tempted by from my list 🙂

Leave a Reply

