Top 10 Non-Fiction of 2013

Blog 2013

2013 was a great reading year for me with an increased number of books finished to 2012. With such a large amount of great books read I have decided to do separate top 10 posts for fiction and non-fiction for 2013. Here is my top 10 non-fiction:

Tudors: The History of England Volume II by Peter Ackroyd     New Read     History
A fascinating and in-depth look into the great and turbulent reigns of the monarchs of Tudor dynasty. With particular interest in religious changes/reforms which I found very interesting perhaps not for everyone.

 A Very Brief History: Anne Boleyn by Mark Black     New Read     History
A simple but interesting introduction to the life of the ill-fated second wife of Henry VIII. I found a new element of respect and pity for this strong woman with such a sad end.

A Street Cat Named Bob by James Bowen     New Read    Memoir
An utterly charming memoir of the touching and transformative friendship of James and his cat Bob. I loved the simple, natural and funny style of it.

Trusting God: Even When Life Hurts by Jerry Bridges     New Read     Faith
I made slow and steady progress through this taking pleasure in mulling over the ideas Bridges had to share. I read many good works of Christian non-fiction in 2013 but this was read at just the right time for me.

Believing in Faeries (A Manual for Grown Ups) by Marcia Zina Mager     Re-Read     Faith
An interesting, fun, and thought-provoking read. I was interested to discover that this wasn’t a complete clash now with my Christian faith.

On Which Side of the Road Do the Flowers Grow? by Wendell E Mettey    New Read    Memoir/Faith
A refreshing look at how God uses us warts and all to help grow ourselves and those around us. An interesting and touching collection of true life stories.

The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey by Brian Sibley     New Read     Movie Guide
A fun, easy, and fascinating read filled with interesting fact and beautiful photographs to stretch the magic out for me after seeing the film twice at the cinema.

Old Man River by Paul Schneider     New Read     History
A fascinating and extensive history of the great Mississippi river. I really enjoyed the style of this and not a history I initially would have thought to find out about.

Elizabeth of York by Alison Weir     New Read     History
A well written, researched and fascinating look into this woman’s role and influence on an important period of English history.

The Lion’s World by Rowan Williams     New Read     Narnia/Faith
A fascinating and informative read, which was a perfect companion to go along with my re-read of The Chronicles of Narnia.

I am so pleased with how many more non-fiction books I managed to read in 2013 up from 5 to 26. Looking at my top 10 I am also really pleased with the diversity of non-fiction I read. I am looking forward to reading more in 2014.

What non-fiction shone out for you in 2013?

4 thoughts on “Top 10 Non-Fiction of 2013

Leave a Reply

