New Read: City of Glass

City of Glass

January 2014 still sees me a very busy bee juggling my college work, work placement, first aid course, puppets, dancing, drama and my birthday! Phew with all that I reached for the next instalment of The Mortal Instruments the City of Glass as an easy and comfort read.

City of Glass is the third instalment of The Mortal Instruments series. This post may contain spoilers for the previous instalments.

City of Glass continues to follow Clarissa Fray better known as Clary to her friends and family. Clary’s world has been turned upside down not only has she had to come to terms with the fact that werewolves, vampires, fairies and demons are real and the fact she is a powerful Shadowhunter but now she needs to get them all to work together. Valentine has stolen two of the powerful mortal instruments and only needs one more to summon Raziel the Angel who created Shadowhunters. The Clave (Shadowhunter council) to counter this threat has called all Shadowhunter back to Alicante the glass capital city of Idris. This is the first time Clary has ever seen her homeland but it isn’t to be a peaceful visit as she not only has to face Valentine but seek a cure for her mother too.

Clary the main protagonist of this series is a shy, petite, artistic and awkward teenager. This hasn’t changed much with the discovery that she is a powerful Shadowhunter. Clary through out this book is trying to come to terms with her power, the lifestyle that comes with it and the danger that now surrounds her. There are many new character additions in City of Glass mainly Shadowhunters Clary meets in Alicante. She is however still joined by her friends Simon (vampire), Jace, Isabelle and Alec (shadowhunters), Luke and Maia (werewolves) and Magnus Bane (warlock) on this new dangerous adventure.

Cassandra Clare was a new author for me in 2013 City of Glass is the third book of Clare’s I have read. Unlike my brother who has devoured both of Clare’s series The Mortal Instruments and The Infernal Devices. Like the previous instalment I found City of Glass to be well written, fast paced, and a real page turner once you got into the main action of the book.  I am pleased to say the changes and growth in the characters that turned them from two-dimensional characters to one’s I really like and believe in continues in this book. For that reason I enjoyed City of Glass.

City of Glass is a fun and easy to read urban fantasy adventure. I recommend if you are a fan of young adult novels. I have City of Fallen Angels the next instalment of The Mortal Instruments waiting for me on my bookshelf. I am looking forward to starting it. Good read.

Are you reading this series? Are you a fan of urban fantasy?

Previous instalments of The Mortal Instruments series:
1. City of Bones
2. City of Ashes

8 thoughts on “New Read: City of Glass

  1. Happy belated birthday 🙂 I don’t know the books but have watched the movie adaptation of the first part. I enjoyed the worldbuilding a lot though there was too much tragic romance for me. Great comfort watching though!

  2. Happy birthday, Jessica! I keep saying I’m going to read these books but haven’t yet. That film advert on the cover’s rather big – is it a sticker at least?

Leave a Reply

