The Classics Club: Two Years Gone

The Classics Club #1

Start Date: 19th March 2012

End Date: 19th March 2017

As they say time flys by when you’re having fun and that definitely applies to The Classics Club. Part of me can’t believe I joined back in March 2012 which means two years have gone by! Here’s what I have read off my list in that year:

1) The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald
2) Grimm’s Fairy Tales
3) Bleak House by Charles Dickens
4) The Return of Sherlock Holmes by Arthur Conan Doyle
5) Northanger Abbey by Jane Austen
6) Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll
7) Through the Looking Glass by Lewis Carroll
8) A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens
9) Around the World in Eighty Days by Jules Verne

Read: 20/50

I am so pleased with my progress so far. 9 books is just under the average of 10 books I need to read to keep on track to manage to read 50 books altogether. As I read 11 the previous year though it means I am still bang on track. All of the books above I have posted my thoughts on, please click on the titles to be taken to my full posts. A list of books/links though isn’t that interesting so I decided to adapt the meme questions I use for my end of year posts to reflect on what classics I have been reading.

Most Anticipated: The Return of Sherlock Holmes
Most Beautifully Written: Northanger Abbey
Most Disappointing: The Great Gatsby
Most Surprising (In A Good Way!): Around the World in Eighty Days
Most Memorable Character/s: Ebenezer Scrooge and Sherlock Holmes
Most Recommended-to-Others: A Christmas Carol
Favourite New Authors Discovered: Lewis Carroll
Multiple Reads of an Author: Lewis Carroll (2) and Charles Dickens (2)

Ambitions for 2013/2014: Pretty much to continue as I am. I have been impressed with the amount I have read over the last two years. I am looking forward to reading more by Austen, Dickens, Doyle and Verne. Plus who knows what new authors I will fall in love with. Wish me luck!

What classics have you enjoyed over the last year? Any recommendations?

12 thoughts on “The Classics Club: Two Years Gone

  1. You’ve done really well on your target! What I find interesting is that we’ve read some of the same classics over the same period. I’ve probably picked up a few of them because of your reviews.

  2. I’m currently reading Elizabeth Gaskell’s Wives and Daughters and it’s wonderful so far. I see it’s on your original list. And since you’re no stranger to chunksters, I highly recommend George Eliot’s Middlemarch.

    1. Christy thank you for the recommendations. I am really looking forward to reading something by Gaskell as I have never read anything by her before. I have Cranford, North and South and Wives and Daughters on my list.

  3. I can’t believe it’s been two years either! I’m impressed with your progress and probably should’ve reduced my list from 100, but oh well.

  4. You are doing so well, it’s quite inspiring! I’m enjoying Anna Karenina though I’m not sure I’ll end it loving it because there is so much unnecessary information in it. I liked Gatsby last year, loved Gone With The Wind and A Christmas Carol, and embarrassingly that’s all the progress I made last year. I’ve been recommending A Christmas Carol to a few people. The adaptations are good but the book is brilliant.

  5. Well done on reading all those classics. I love reading classics but don’t do it as often as I would like. I really like Daphne Du Maurier – Rebecca, Jamaica Inn and Frenchman’s Creek are my favourites. I also love Elizabeth Gaskell’s books North and South and Wives and Daughters.

    My favourite classic author is, of course Jane Austen. But I am embarrassed to admit that I’ve never read Northanger Abbey. My partner recently gave me a collection of all Jane Austen’s novels so I no longer have an excuse. I need to read this! Did you enjoy it?

    1. Jane I have never read anything by Gaskell but I am looking forward to as I have Cranford, North and South and Wives and Daughters on my Classics Club list 🙂

      I did enjoy Northanger Abbey it does have a different feel to Austen’s other novels. I hope you will enjoy it too.

Leave a Reply

