The Classics Club: Spin #8 Result

The Classics Club #1

A quick update for you fellow bookworms the result for The Classics Club Spin is in!

The number randomly selected is: 13

Which means I will be reading: Shirley by Charlotte Brontë

If I’m honest I’m a little daunted by this choice. I read Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë not long after I joined The Classics Club. Sadly it didn’t live up to my expectations which has left me thinking will I like her other work? I know little to nothing about Shirley though so I suppose no expectations to live up too?

What has the spin chosen for you?

8 thoughts on “The Classics Club: Spin #8 Result

  1. I read Shirley. I LOVE Charlotte Bronte, and Jane Eyre is my favorite Victorian novel, so my expectations for Shirley were pretty high. It starts out a bit slow, but I grew to love the characters, and ultimately, I really enjoyed it.

  2. Nice new layout! Likey.
    I’m ashamed to admit that whilst I’ve read Shirley I can’t remember the first thing about it! How bad is that!!! Either – it was absolutely dreadful and I had to obliterate it from my grey cells – or my grey cells are shrinking and throwing out some things in order to make room for others!
    I hope you enjoy it – I’ll look forward to your review to jog my memory.
    Lynn 😀

    1. Lynn I’m not sure if one of those options is preferable. On one hand I don’t want the novel to be dreadful but on the other I certainly don’t want your grey cells shrinking! I really hope I enjoy the book too. And thank you, I like the simplicity of this new layout while I liked my old one too. I think it was perhaps a bit busy and too girly….even for me 🙂

  3. Shirley is the only Bronte novel I still haven’t read and I don’t know much about it either. I hope you enjoy it, especially after being disappointed with Jane Eyre.

Leave a Reply

