Top 10 Reads of 2014

Blog 2014

Hello my fellow bookworms the end of 2014 is upon us. I can’t believe it myself 2014 seems to have flown by but whether I believe it or not it is time to choose my top 10 reads of the year. After much thought here are my choices (ordered alphabetically by author):

1. The Three Musketeers by Alexandre Dumas
A sweeping historic and romantic adventure in France which I could hardly put down. Film and TV adaptations had left me with high expectations fortunately the novel easily lived up to them.

2. The Sisters of Treason by Elizabeth Fremantle
A well written and fascinating look into the intrigues and lives of those living under the shadow of treason in the Tudor period. I would like to read more by Elizabeth Fremantle.

3. A Lifetime Burning by Linda Gillard
Another beautiful tale of the love, life, and death from an author rapidly becoming one of my favourites.

4. A Storm of Swords, Book 1 and 2 by George R R Martin
Another excellent epic fantasy adventure full of action, adventure, intrigue, love, war, lies, fighting, secrets, and shocks! I look forward to reading more of A Song of Ice and Fire series.

5. Queen of Hearts, Volume 1 and Volume 2 by Colleen Oakes
A clever and detailed reimagining of Wonderland through the eyes of Dinah the future Queen of Hearts. A new series and author for me. Roll on volume 3.

6. Equal Rites by Terry Pratchett
A wonderfully fun, colourful and thought provoking adventure from a beloved author.

7. The Gabriel Hounds by Mary Stewart
A wonderful romantic suspense in the exotic and beautiful setting of Lebanon; it was a perfect read for the start of Autumn.

8. Around the World in Eighty Days by Jules Verne
A delightful and eccentric adventure around the world in days gone by. I wasn’t sure about this before I started reading it but I was pleasantly surprised.

9. Why Be Happy When You Could Be Normal? by Jeanette Winterson
A beautifully told memoir of a lonely and unusual childhood but with hints of hope and humour. I feared it would be a too depressing read but instead found it to be a well balanced read.

10. A Very British Murder by Lucy Worsley
An interesting and enjoyable non-fiction looking into the British obsession with a good murder mystery. As a fan of the murder mystery myself I found it all fascinating.

2014 has been another good reading year for me. I have finished fewer books but still plenty of enjoyable reads to try to trim down to just ten. It was difficult and yes I cheated a wee bit as two of my choices are actually two books; I thought it acceptable though as they continue the same story. I shouldn’t complain though it is a very good thing to have so many books to choose from.

What were your favourite reads of 2014?

20 thoughts on “Top 10 Reads of 2014

  1. So many books I have not read, and now you’ve added to my “to read (some day)” list! I definitely am curious about Linda Gillard. Happy New Year!!

  2. If a book is in volumes then making it one is perfectly acceptable! 🙂 You certainly read some good books last year; I’ve not read any of them (Sisters Of Treason I have ready so I’m glad it was #2) but heard enough to see why they’re there. Happy new year!

  3. I love that there are so many classics on your list! I definitely need to work more on my Classics list in the next few years, but meh. I’m also looking forward to reading Winterson’s memoir!

    1. Cheryl it is always nice to have too many favourites really. I hope you have time to re-read Around the World in 80 Days in 2015. I am looking forward to reading more by Jules Verne.

  4. Thank you, Jessica, for citing A LIFETIME BURNING. That was a very pleasant surprise. 🙂 This dark novel gets very little attention but I consider it my best. Happy New Year to you.

  5. Oh it has been ages since I’ve read The Three Musketeers, around 10 or 15 years ago I went through a Dumas phase and read a load of his stuff. I still have “Twenty Years Later” sitting on my bookshelves waiting for me. Maybe I’ll do a heap of Musketeer books in 2015.

    I love the Game of Thrones tv series, but have held off on reading the books. I’m waiting til they are all written, so I guess I’ll be waiting some time yet.

    Terry Pratchett is always worth a read, I’d love to get the whole Discworld series in those shiny new hardback versions.

    1. Hello Fence, thank you for stopping by and commenting 🙂 I also hope to read more Dumas in 2015. I have The Count of Monte Cristo on my Classics Club list. I sympathise that you want to hold off reading the Song of Ice and Fire series by Martin till they’ve all been written. I wanted to do a similar thing but then I was bought the full set (to date) and just couldn’t resist starting 🙂

  6. Hi Jessica
    As always – a great list!
    I love the Musketeers. Plus other greats – Martin, Verne and Pratchett.
    Happy New Year to you and all the best for 2015.
    Looking forward to all yours posts.
    Lynn 😀

  7. That’s a great top 10 – I love The Three Musketeers and The Gabriel Hounds. I would like to read something by Jules Verne and Linda Gillard in 2015. Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

