New Read: Inferno

Inferno

In December my father finished reading Inferno by Dan Brown and so I finally got my hands on it. I didn’t wait long to start it as I thought it would be a perfect read for the Christmas and New Year holiday.

Inferno re-unites us with Brown’s well loved protagonist Robert Langdon as he awakes in a Florence hospital with a head wound and no memory of the last two days. When a highly trained assassin comes shooting their way into the hospital Robert is forced to flee with the help from a young doctor Sienna Brook. In Robert’s pocket is a strange device that is inspired by Dante Alighieri’s Divine Comedy. Following these clues seems like Robert’s best chance of finding out what has happened to him, and so starts an adventure through Florence’s streets, palaces, churches, gardens, history and art.

Robert Langdon has appeared in three of Brown’s previous novels; The Da Vinci Code, Angels and Demons, and The Lost Symbol. Robert is a symbolist professor at Harvard University, USA. Robert is in his forties, intelligent, cultured and let’s face it rather geeky; for which I love him. In the film adaptations Tom Hanks was cast as Robert and while Hanks is not the right height he does suit the character very well. I must admit through out this book I was picturing him. Then we also have Robert’s new, young and beautiful companion Sienna who is rather a mystery. She’s adds a lot interest and offers something different to previous female companions.

I have read two of Brown’s previous thrillers led by Robert Langdon; Angels and Demons, and The Lost Symbol. Both were gripping thrillers although the American setting of The Lost Symbol didn’t grab my imagination as much as the Rome setting of Angels and Demons. Knowing this you may well guess how pleased I was that this new novel took us back to Italy this time to Florence; a setting full of history, drama, art and beautiful architecture. As Brown describes the Medici’s residence Palazzo Pitti with the Boboli Gardens, the covered Ponte Vecchio, the Palazzo Vecchio and the Duomo I could picture it all; and I really want to go to see it all myself!

Inferno is another gripping thriller that follows Professor Robert Langdon through the history, art and symbols of Dante Alighieri’s Divine Comedy to a dramatic climax. I highly recommend to Brown/Langdon fans. Great read.

Have you read this? Are you a fan of the Langdon thrillers?

16 thoughts on “New Read: Inferno

  1. I actually have not read any of his books. Not my cup of tea.

    Nice review. THANKS.

    Thanks for sharing.

    Stopping by from Carole’s Books You Loved February Edition. I am in the list as #11.

    My book entry is below.

    Elizabeth
    Silver’s Reviews
    My Book Entry

  2. I enjoyed The Da Vinci Code, Angels and Demons, and The Lost Symbol but I haven’t read this book . I did borrow it from the library but returned it after reading just the beginning. I wasn’t in the mood to read it, I think and it does seem to start just like the other books, and it was in the run up to Christmas was coming. But I expect I shall read it sometime – when I’m in the mood for a page-turner – and I do like the Italian setting.:)

    1. Margaret when you find yourself in the right mood this is a real page-turner and the setting is great. Plus don’t be fooled by the start, my father thought the same thing, that this was just like the others but there are definitely some new twists 🙂

  3. I enjoyed The Da Vinci Code and Angels and Demons, but I haven’t read either this book or The Lost Symbol. I love books with Italian settings so I would like to read this one.

    1. Helen sounds like you’d enjoyed this one but perhaps like me you wouldn’t enjoy the setting of The Lost Symbol so much. I am interested to see how many have enjoyed The Da Vinci Code I haven’t read that one but sounds like I should go back and try that one too.

    1. Nikki-Ann I’ve watched and enjoyed both films too, although I haven’t read The Da Vinci Code I think perhaps the ‘controversy’ around it put me off. If you do try these books they should be quick reads as you roughly know the stories already you would just get the extra detail from the books.

  4. I’m glad that you compared this one to Angels and Demons rather than Lost Symbol. I enjoyed both Angels and the Da Vinci Code, but Lost Symbol put me off his books a bit. Sounds like this one is a return to form 🙂

    1. Sam I know what you mean The Lost Symbol was the weaker book; in particular I don’t think I connected with the setting. Inferno takes us back to the old world which I loved. Sounds like you’d enjoy this more too.

    1. Carmen I hope you enjoy this and Angels and Demons when you get the chance to read them as much as you did The Da Vinci Code. I have only watched the film but if it’s fantastic I might have to go back and read The Da Vinci Code too.

Leave a Reply

