New Read: The Reflections of Queen Snow White

Reflections of Queen Snow White

I snapped up The Reflections of Queen of Snow White by David Meredith interested to see how Meredith would re-imagine this classic fairy tale. Recently here in the UK it has been dark, cold and we’ve even had some snow. What better time to tuck oneself in bed with a fairy tale.

The Reflections of Queen of Snow White re-introduces us to Snow White a year into mourning for her husband, king and one true love, Charming. From which not even the upcoming marriage of her only child Princess Raven can break her. One day whilst fleeing the wedding preparations, guests and the never ending questions Snow White finds herself in a disused part of the castle. These are Snow White’s late, evil stepmother’s quarters which were closed off after she was overthrown. Whilst there Snow White discovers an old, large mirror which gives her the power to reflect back on important moments in her life (an interest twist I thought).

Though Snow White now has streaks of white in her black hair and a few wrinkles on her snow white skin, she is still a beautiful and healthy woman. Mentally though she comes across young and a little weak, she really doesn’t think she can go own without Charming to guide and protect her. Through the reflections Snow White was reminded of what hard times she had endured and how Charming wasn’t always there to save her. I felt Snow White grew as a character through this experience.

The Reflections of Queen of Snow White is the first novel I have read by David Meredith. I was contacted by the author about this novel and decided to take a punt on it as I was interested to see a re-imagining of this classic fairy tale. I was not to disappointed on that front, Meredith has written an interesting, adult re-imagining of the story and the character of Snow White. The text does need some editing though. There were quite a few typos and I found an excessive use of adjectives however I was invested enough in Snow White and her journey that I happily read on.

The Reflections of Queen of Snow White is an interesting re-imagining of the Snow White fairy tale. This does contain violent and sexual content so I recommend for adults only. Okay read.

Thank you to the author for providing a free copy of this book in exchange for my honest opinion.

Have read this? Or any other re-imagining of Snow White?

6 thoughts on “New Read: The Reflections of Queen Snow White

  1. Sounds sad, but intriguing (of course!) And I am relieved to hear she grows from an initial “I can’t go on” attitude. I don’t think I’ve seen anyone take this angle before–I might have to look into it!

  2. Good that you liked it. Have you read Boy, Snow, Bird? I haven’t, but I understand it’s a re-imagining of Snow White as well. It was on several lists of the best books of last year.

  3. This sounds like such an interesting twist on the Snow White fairytale! I love fairytale retellings, and so have read quite a few, but I’ve never come across such a unique interpretation on Snow White as this! I’ll definitely be checking it out, thank you for sharing 🙂 xxx

Leave a Reply

