Adaptations: January 2015 (1)

Adaptations #2

I absolutely love adaptations. I know this can sometimes be a controversial subject with book lovers but not for me. I think my real love of them came from my time studying performance at university. There I became fascinated with taking a story and telling it through a different medium; whether that be book, film, TV, or on the stage.

Here are the adaptations I have been watching during the Christmas holiday and January:

Oz the Great and Powerful (2013)         Read     Film     Television
Fantasy adventure based on L. Frank Baum’s Oz series of novels and a prequel to the classic film The Wizard of Oz (1939). This takes us back to when Oscar Diggs a sideshow magician is swept into a magical land. A nice storyline, stunning special effects and vistas, and a good ensemble cast. Good watch.

On Her Majesty’s Secret Service (1969)         Not Read     Film     Television
The sixth James Bond thriller, starring George Lazenby, based on Ian Fleming’s tenth Bond novel. There’s a slightly ridiculous toboggan fight but other than that I enjoyed the 1960’s setting, the beautiful Diana Rigg, and the bittersweet ending. Good watch.

Diamonds Are Forever (1971)          Not Read     Film     Television
The seventh James Bond thriller, starring Sean Connery, based on Ian Fleming’s fourth Bond novel. I enjoyed the early 1970s setting,  the humorous tone and the return of Connery to the role, he’s definitely one of my favourite Bonds. Good watch.

Atlantis (2014)          Read     TV Series     Television
First half of series 2 of the BBC’s fantasy adventure inspired by Greek Mythology; including Jason, Hercules, Ariadne, Pasiphae and the Grey Sisters. A fun and exciting show as before but this 2nd series seemed to be darker than the previous. I particularly love Mark Addy as the over weight and washed up hero Hercules. I am looking forward to the rest of this series. Good watch.

Ivanhoe (1982)          Read     Film     Television
A sweeping historical TV film based on Sir Walter Scott’s classic novel. A colourful and romantic adaptation with a good ensemble cast including Anthony Andrews, San Neill, John Rhys-Davies, and Olivia Hussey as the beautiful Rebecca. Good watch.

Live and Let Die (1973)          Not Read     Film     Television
The eighth James Bond thriller, starring Roger Moore, based on Ian Fleming’s second Bond novel. Moore isn’t my favourite Bond however I did find him rather amusing in this film. I also liked the mystic/exotic elements, the beautiful Jane Seymour, and the cool theme song. Good watch.

Another good adaptation filled month for me, I can’t actually believe how much I’ve watched and we’re not even technically at the end of January yet. My numbers have been considerably increased by ITV’s showing of the Bond films every Sunday afternoon. They’ve been perfect watches for all the family after our big dinner. I look forward to more Bond next weekend and many more adaptations I have recorded.

Watched any of these? What have you been watching recently?

6 thoughts on “Adaptations: January 2015 (1)

  1. I’ve seen all three of the Bond films – I think I probably preferred the Sean Connery out of all of them. Interested in seeing that Ivanhoe version you mention – I have seen an adapation but I’m sure it was much earlier with Olivian dHaviland maybe? Well, maybe not – but anyway – I’ll have to look this one up.
    Lynn 😀

  2. Oz the Great and Powerful was stunning visually, though the humor seemed oriented towards children. I haven’t watched the earlier Bonds movies, but I am a big fan of Pierce Brosnan’s and Daniel Craig’s installments. On that note, Skyfall was awesome!
    Did you watch the documentary Blackfish? It is intense and brilliant and I recently found out it was inspired on a brief book/article titled Killer in the Pool which I haven’t read but I intend to.

    1. Carmen, until now I was the same as you I had only watched the Pierce Brosnan and Daniel Craig films. I must agree I loved Skyfall too. With that as inspiration and the opportunity on ITV I thought I start watching the earlier Bonds. I’m afraid I didn’t watch the documentary Blackfish but having looked it up it does sound interesting, glad you enjoyed it.

Leave a Reply

