New Read: Mariana

Mariana

I haven’t long owned Mariana by Susanna Kearsley however I have read and heard such positive things about it from other readers that I just couldn’t wait to start it.

Mariana takes us to the sleepy countryside of England where for the third time in her life Julia Beckett has been inextricably drawn to Greywethers, an old farmhouse in a small village off the beaten track. Feeling that this surely has to be a sign Julia buys the house. Upon moving in Julia finds the landscape and  peace inspiring, and finds the locals friendly too however it is not long before Julia begins connecting with a young woman, who lived in the house many years ago, called Mariana through disturbing out-of-time experiences.

Julia Beckett is an illustrator for children’s books (what a great job) who for most of her adult life has lived in London but when we meet her Julia finds herself drawn to the countryside, in particular to Greywethers. Julia is a likeable protagonist; being clever, artistic, friendly and a book lover! Julia is joined in this story by her brother Tom a vicar whose parish is near by, Vivien the local pub owner, Iain a neighbouring farmer, Geoff the handsome lord, and of course Mariana and those she knew in the past. There are several interesting romances between these characters running through out the story, present and past, I will go no further in my description though because they are complicated and I wouldn’t want to ruin any surprises.

Mariana is the third novel I have read by Susanna Kearsley, and like those two previous novels I really enjoyed this. What I particularly like about Kearsley is her writing style which I find just so comforting and familiar, like a favourite jumper. I find a few pages into her novels I am already lost in the tales of life, love and history. I also like dual time periods and I feel Kearsley is great at them. While I often find myself in these sorts of novels drawn to one period or another (usually the past) in this I found myself enjoying and being invested in both time periods. I think perhaps this now my joint favourite of Kearsley’s novels alongside The Rose Garden.

Mariana is a beautiful dual time period novel of life, love and history. I highly recommend and I look forward to reading more by Kearsley. I have Season of Storms and The Shadowy Horses on my to-be-read pile. Great read.

Have you read any of Susanna Kearsley’s novels? Any recommendations?

12 thoughts on “New Read: Mariana

    1. Charlie, I think this would be a good novel of Kearsley’s to begin with. I haven’t read The Firebird but it sounds good. I hope you are able to read something by her soon 🙂

    1. Anbolyn, I think this would be a good novel of Kearsley’s to begin with. I hope you are able to read something by her soon as she has a very comforting style like Stewart whom I know you enjoy 🙂

  1. She’s a very easy author to read. This one sounds similar to one I’ve read that also had a dual time line? I wonder if I’m mixing them up. I’ll have to go and take a look.
    Lynn 😀

  2. I loved this one too and I agree that there’s something comforting about Susanna Kearsley’s writing style. She always reminds me of Mary Stewart. I think The Firebird is my favourite of her books, though I still have a few left to read.

  3. I too liked Mariana very much, though The Rose Garden not so much. Did you read The Firebird? It is fantastic in my opinion, my second most favorite or possibly the two firsts together with The Winter Sea. I have The Shadowy Horses and Every Secret Thing on my TBR list for this year, plus I would like to read the new one to be released in April, A Dangerous Fortune.
    Wow, I get carried away talking about Kearsley’s novels! 🙂

    1. Carmen, it is lovely to hear from some one who is really into Kearsley’s novels. I haven’t read The Firebird I would like to though of course. I hope you are able to read The Shadowy Horses, Every Secret Thing and Kearsley’s new novel this year. I look forward to seeing your thoughts on them.

Leave a Reply

