New Read: Love So Amazing

Love So Amazing

I am a relatively new Christian having come to faith in my late teens. Now in my twenties I like to read Christian literature to help with the growth of my faith and to hear what other Christians have to say.I like always having a piece of non-fiction on the go so I chose Love So Amazing by Pam Rhodes from my Kindle to-be-read folder.

Love So Amazing is a collection of short reflections on forty of the Rhodes’ favourite hymns, many of which are also some of the nation’s favourites. In each reflection Rhodes discusses the author and history of the hymn, what inspired the hymn, and sometimes what the hymn went on to inspire. Some of my favourite hymns discussed in this are What a Friend We Have in Jesus, In Christ Alone, Amazing Grace, Be Thou My Vision, Abide With Me, Be Still, for the Presence of the Lord, and How Great Thou Art. I was so pleased to see so many of my favourites discussed.

Love So Amazing is the first book I have read by Pam Rhodes, and like many people here in the UK I know her best as a presenter on the BBC’s long running Songs of Praise show. Rhodes herself admits she was surprised when she was approached about writing this collection. She felt their must be more qualified writers however it was her vast experience on Songs of Praise that was important. I thought Rhodes did a lovely job on this book; the style is simple, down to earth and friendly. Very much like you were chatting about favourite hymns with a knowledgeable friend over a cup of tea and biscuits.

Love So Amazing is a delightful look into some of the nation’s (UK) most beloved hymns. I recommend to those interested in hymns and Christian non-fiction. Good read.

Thank you to Lion Hudson Plc for providing a copy of this book via NetGalley in exchange for my honest opinion.

Have you read this? What is your favourite hymn?

4 thoughts on “New Read: Love So Amazing

  1. I haven’t read it but it would be interesting to read about the stories behind the hymns. I only know Amazing Grace and Abide with Me, especially the versions sung by Charlotte Church and Hayley Westenra, respectively.

    1. Carmen, this was an interesting read. Charlotte Church and Hayley Westenra are beautiful singers, and I am pretty sure both have performed on Songs of Praise at least once 🙂

Leave a Reply

