Goodbye January, Hello February

January 2015

Hello my fellow bookworms, I hope you are all well? It has been a very cold month here in the UK, we’ve even had some snow. January has been brightened by several birthdays; including my own which I celebrated with a wonderful meal at my favourite Mediterranean restaurant. The cold has also promoted my reading as in the evening all I have wanted to do is tuck myself in bed with a good book. Here is what I have managed to finish:

Fiction: 4     Non-Fiction: 2     Poetry: 0

I started the month off with Inferno another great thriller by Dan Brown. I loved re-uniting with Robert Langdon for an adventure following clues through the streets, buildings, and history of Florence, Italy. In parallel to Inferno I was dipping in and out of the classic Shirley by Charlotte Brontë. A slow and comforting read about life, love and death in a rural community in England’s past.

Next for a change of pace I read The Reflections of Queen Snow White an adult re-imagining of the classic fairy tale by David Meredith. A quick and interesting read. I also raced through Mariana another historical suspense by Susanna Kearsley. A wonderful dual time period novel set in the beautiful countryside that I simply didn’t want to put down.

Alongside these fictions I also read two non-fictions. First The Moor by William Atkins. A discussion of the geography, history, inhabitants, ownership and uses for the moors, and the literature and art they have inspired. Then Christian non-fiction Love So Amazing by Pam Rhodes a delightful and interesting reflection on 40 favourite hymns.

Pick of the Month: Inferno and Mariana

And those are just the books I finished. A new aim for 2015 for me is to always have a classic on the go so after finishing Shirley by Charlotte Brontë I moved on to Tender is the Night by F Scott Fitzgerald. I think so far it is my favourite by this author. I started reading the modern fiction The Book of Jonah by Joshua Max Feldman but half way through I have lost my enthusiasm, hopefully it comes back soon. I have also started a lovely memoir Our Zoo by June Mottershead; the youngest daughter of George Mottershead the founder of Chester Zoo.

What did you read in January?

10 thoughts on “Goodbye January, Hello February

  1. I like your goal of always having a Classic on the go, but I’m a one-book reader and I get distracted if I try to read more than one. (Usually a really long classic or a book group book is involved.)

  2. That was a good reading month for you – a nice mix of books. I’ve also decided to try having a classic book on the go alongside my other reading. I’ll give Inferno another go and have added Shirley to my to be read lists.

  3. You’re not kidding about the cold weather! I don’t think we had it as bad where I live as some others but it still felt intense! Nice that you’re still enjoying Kearsley – she has a lovely writing style.
    Lynn 😀

    1. Lynn, recently it has been clear here but bitingly cold but I do think I prefer that to dark, wet and miserable. I am still enjoying Kearsley and I am looking forward to the two novels of hers I have on my to-be-read still.

  4. I’m glad January was a good month for you. I must read Shirley soon – it’s the only Bronte novel I still haven’t read. Happy belated birthday, by the way!

  5. Happy birthday! We’ve had several snow days recently, which has been good for us readers here! You read a nice variety of books in January! Here’s hoping that February is another good month for reading weather!

    1. Hello Laurie, thank you for the Birthday wishes, and for stopping by and commenting! It is always lovely to hear from a new face. I hope February is a happy reading month for you too 🙂

Leave a Reply

