Adaptations: January 2015 (2)

Adaptations #3

I absolutely love adaptations. I know this can sometimes be a controversial subject with book lovers but not for me. I think my real love of them came from my time studying performance at university. There I became fascinated with taking a story and telling it through a different medium; whether that be book, film, TV, or on the stage.

Here are some more adaptations I watched during January:

Boardwalk Empire (2014)          Not Read     TV Series     Television
The fifth and sadly the final series of the gritty, gangster drama inspired by Boardwalk Empire: The Birth, High Times, and Corruption of Atlantic City by Nelson Johnson. I have been enjoying this series since 2010 and I am sad to see the end of it, a bittersweet but appropriate ending to it all. Great watch.

Sleepy Hollow (2014)          Not Read     TV Series     Television
First half of series 2 of supernatural drama based on Washington Irving’s short story The Legend of Sleepy Hollow. An up-to-date retelling where the headless huntsman meets the modern world. A fun and dark series. Good watch.

Disney’s A Christmas Carol (2009)          Read     Film     Television
Animated family adventure/drama which is the third adaptation by Disney of Charles Dickens’ classic novel. I have very fond childhood memories of The Muppet Christmas Carol (1992). With the snow outside it felt a good time to watch this newer version. It has some stunning animation and special effects, and some great voice performances from Jim Carey and Gary Oldham. Good watch.

The Book Thief (2013)          Not Read     Film     Television
World War II drama based on Markus Zusak’s novel of the same title. A poignant and beautiful tale of a young bookworm growing up in Nazi Germany. With touching performances from  Geoffrey Rush and young Sophie Nélisse. I also enjoyed the interesting narrator choice. Great watch.

Maleficent (2014)          Read     Film     Television
A live action adventure following the antagonist of Disney’s classic animated film Sleeping Beauty (1959), inspired by the fairy tales Little Briar Rose by the Brothers Grimm and The Sleeping Beauty by Charles Perrault. I thought this was a really interesting twist on the classic tale with amazing special effects and Angelina Jolie is an awesome dark fairy. Great watch.

That’s another 5 watched which when added to the previous 6 makes the grand total 11 adaptations for January. I love adaptations but even for me that is a lot! I was unable to watch one of ITV’s regular Bond film showings on Sunday, otherwise my total could have been even more. I am looking forward to seeing what adaptations I watch in February however I doubt it will be this many again!

What did you watch in January?

13 thoughts on “Adaptations: January 2015 (2)

  1. Hmm, I’ve been thinking of watching The Book Thief–read the book, liked it pretty well, wasn’t sure how it would translate to the screen. On the other hand–Geoffrey Rush! And it’s encouraging to hear you enjoyed it…

  2. I don’t normally watch a film if I’ve already read the book, but I loved The Book Thief so much that I thought I’d give the film a go when it came along. Amazongly, I loved the film too. Definitely read the book, if you can.

  3. I want to watch all of these adaptations, but I was wondering about Sleepy Hollow because it looks really good. I recently watched quite a few adaptations: Silver Linings Playbook, Atonement, The Hobbit: Desolation of Smaug. I’m in the middle of watching the North and South BBC series.

    1. I enjoyed Atonement and The Hobbit: Desolation of Smaug, and I really loved Silver Linings Playbook. I think I watched the BBC’s North and South series but it was a while a go and I don’t remember much about it. If you manage to watch Sleepy Hollow I hope you enjoy it.

  4. I loved The Book Thief and A Christmas Carol. I haven’t watched Maleficent yet but I think I’ll get to it this weekend. Last weekend I watched This Is When I Leave You; it was hysterical, soooo good!

    1. Carmen, I am pleased to hear you also enjoyed The Book Thief and A Christmas Carol. I hope you enjoy Maleficent too. I haven’t heard of This Is When I Leave You I will have to go look it up.

Leave a Reply

