New Books: February 2015

New Books - February #1

Hello my fellow bookworms, here’s what goodies I have managed to add to my bookshelf and Kindle recently:

The Curse Keepers Collection by Denise Grover Swank
(including 3 novels and 3 prequel novellas)

The Raven’s Head by Karen Maitland

Victorian Fairy Tales edited by Michael Newton

I received this really interesting mixture of fantasy and supernatural novels, novellas and short story collection for my Kindle from Netgalley.

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix by J K Rowling

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by J K Rowling

My father picked these up for me from an antique shop as they are first editions with the original cover art. My Potter books currently have several different covers which my OCD nature doesn’t like. These two books help me along to making one complete, matching set.

New Books - February #2

The Hairy Dieters: Eat For Life by Si King & Dave Myers

The Hairy Dieters: Good Eating by Si King & Dave Myers

For a while I have been keeping my eyes peeled for these cookbooks so when I saw them for only £8 each I had to get them. These are from the nation’s (UK) beloved ‘Hairy Biker’ chefs. I am not looking to lose weight particularly but I love how down to earth and well balanced these recipes are.

Elizabeth I and Her Circle by Susan Doran

I also received this historical non-fiction for my Kindle from Netgalley. I just couldn’t resist clicking download as it’s about one of my favourite historical characters.

Have you read any of these? What new books are you excited about?

18 thoughts on “New Books: February 2015

  1. I can only sympathise with you on the HP books and cover changes; I’m missing the last ones due to that. Awesome that your dad bought them for you! Would love to hear how you find the cookbooks 🙂

    1. Charlie, it is awesome my dad bought these for me. It now means I only need to find an original copy of The Half-Blood Prince to complete a full, matching set. So far from the cookbooks I have tried making sausages with onion gravy and a beef madras, both were yummy 🙂

  2. I’ve heard the hairy dieters cookbooks are great, my friends used them and loved them. I think I’ve got a copy of one somewhere.

    Oh Harry Potter, I wish they took up less space so I could collect lots and lots of them.

    1. Alice, I know what you mean about the size of the Potter books The Order of the Phoenix in particular is huge! I have also enjoyed what I have cooked from the Hairy Dieter’s cookbooks so far. Last night my friend and I made beef madras, it was yummy 🙂

  3. Yay to Harry Potter, like you I need all my editions to match and luckily from The Goblet of Fire onwards I bought them all on the night they were released and that was the only style of cover at the time…at least it definitely was for Book 4, i think they released adult versions for the last few. Enjoy!

    1. Lynn, how lovely that your dad enjoys the Harry Potter books. My dad has read them once and loves the films but probably won’t ever re-read the books so he thought of me when he saw these instead 🙂

  4. I love the Hairy Biker diet cookbooks! Like you say, they are really down to earth and they have great tasting food with a minimum of actual diet ingredients. They just make me feel generally healthier even though I’m not at all on a diet. I have the yellow one and another one that has a white cover (can’t remember what its subtitle is) – I’ll have to look out for the green one to complete the set.

    1. Meghan, my mom and best friend have the white one which is the original cookbook which went with the TV show. I am keeping my eyes peeled for a reasonably price copy of it for myself. Whilst the green one is their newest which only came out last year. Tonight my best friend and me are making the beef madras fake-away 🙂

Leave a Reply

