Re-Read: The Fellowship of the Ring

The Fellowship of the Ring

With the release of The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies (2014) Peter Jackson’s epic film franchise based on J R R Tolkien’s novels has sadly now come to an end. While I regularly re-read The Hobbit I haven’t read The Lord of the Rings in over 10 years! So the start of February saw me reaching for The Fellowship of the Ring as I thought it was high time for a re-read.

The Fellowship of the Ring takes us back to Middle-Earth 60 years after Bilbo Baggins’s original adventure to the Lonely Mountain. In the quiet and beautiful Shire, Bilbo and his heir Frodo are celebrating landmark birthdays. Frodo now comes into his inheritance which includes Bilbo’s magic ring. Some troubling information has come to light about the ring though that sets Frodo on a dangerous mission in a fellowship with men, hobbits, elf, dwarf and wizard. Bilbo didn’t just find any old ring he has in fact found the one ring of power that Sauron himself forged in Mount Doom, and only there can it be destroyed.

What I particularly love about Tolkien’s work is the unlikely protagonists of hobbits. Small creatures with curly hair, pointy ears, large hairy feet and brightly coloured clothes; who live comfortable lives full of food, walks and routine. In The Fellowship of the Ring we have 4 hobbits Frodo, his gardener Sam, and his cousins Merry and Pippin. They are joined later on by Gandalf the Wizard, Legolas a woodland elf, Gimli a dwarf, and two men Boromir and Aragorn. I love the mixture and diversity of the members of the fellowship, and find it compelling how they journey and interact with each other.

The Hobbit is my favourite book from childhood and I have read it more times than I can count! However I have only previously read The Lord of the Rings trilogy twice and while I have enjoyed them they don’t quite hold the same sort of place in my heart. On re-reading The Fellowship of the Ring I found it to be an intricate and enchanting tale. Every word is precious to Tolkien and again he uses them here perfectly to really bring Middle-Earth alive. The Fellowship of the Ring is probably the longest of the reads from the trilogy because there is a lot of characters to introduce, history to relay, and adventure to establish. I found on this re-read though the slowness and familiarity of it to be very comforting.

The Fellowship of the Ring is a slow but intricate, epic, and enchanting tale. I highly recommend to those who enjoy epic fantasy. I look forward to re-reading The Two Towers next. Great read.

Have you read this? Have you watched the films?

17 thoughts on “Re-Read: The Fellowship of the Ring

  1. I’ve been planning to read Tolkien’s for ages because the first time I tried reading LOTR before, I couldn’t get it at all. I think I’ll have to buy one in the Booksale next time…I’ve read somewhere that he used to be in the same club with C.S. Lewis. I’m a fan of Narnia. I’ve watched the movies of LOTR and there are things I don’t understand in the movie that’s why I want to read the book. 🙂

    1. Jillian I think The Lord of the Rings is hard to start with. I started with The Hobbit instead as it got me used to Tolkien’s style and world but in a shorter children’s tale. And yes Tolkien and Lewis were in a writing club called ‘The Inklings’ while they were working at Oxford University. I love Narnia too 🙂

      1. So that’s what it’s called! Thanks! 😀 I think I saw The Hobbit on one of the secondhand bookstore near our place! One I’ve read it, I’ll be happy to share to you my thoughts as well. 🙂

  2. Nice to hear you enjoyed your reread of Fellowship! It was a little slow for me, but I wonder if I might feel differently about that on a reread too? Looking forward to see your thoughts about Two Towers, that was my favorite!

  3. I love the films, watching The Hobbit and LotR again has made me want to read them. I think I need to save them as a second book, as if they are slow reads it may depress me to only have them on the go.

    1. Alice I can understand why you might want to keep The Lord of the Rings books as second reads because I agree they are long and can be slow reads, especially this first one. I think The Hobbit is a lovely, quick and easy read though. Perfect if you haven’t read Tolkien before.

  4. The Hobbit was one of my favourite books as a child too, but I didn’t like The Lord of the Rings trilogy as much. It’s been a very long time since I read it, though, so I should probably give it another chance now that I’m older.

    1. Helen, I think The Lord of the Rings is definitely worth a re-read. This is my third time reading it but my first as an fully fledged adult, and I feel I am picking up more detail and meaning this time round. I can sympathise though, perhaps it’s the adding childhood memories of it, but I think The Hobbit will always be my favourite 🙂

  5. Such a great post! 🙂 I really want to re-read ‘The Lord of the Rings’ trilogy again, since when I first read it I was really young and even though i really enjoyed it, I doubt I understood everything that I should have.
    I hope you have a lovely time reading the rest of them as well! 🙂

    1. Hello Akylina, thank you for stopping by and commenting. It is always lovely to hear from a new face 🙂 I am so pleased you enjoyed this post. As I said above this is my third time reading the trilogy, and I am still picking up on more detail and meaning. I hope you enjoy a re-read of these too.

      1. You’re so nice – I really enjoy stumbling into such lovely and interesting blogs as well 🙂
        Isn’t this feeling of discovering something new each time you reread a favourite book so brilliant? Thank you so much, I really hope I’ll be able to squeeze in a reread of these soon enough 🙂

    1. Hello Lily, thank you for stopping by and commenting. It is always lovely to hear from a new face 🙂 I was also upset that Tom Bombadil wasn’t in the film; he is one of my favourite characters in the first book. I can understand though that the film just couldn’t do the slow pace of the hobbits journey to Bree so something had to go.

Leave a Reply

