Adaptations: February 2015

Adaptations

I absolutely love adaptations. I know this can sometimes be a controversial subject with book lovers but not for me. I think my real love of them came from my time studying performance at university. There I became fascinated with taking a story and telling it through a different medium; whether that be book, film, TV, or on the stage.

Here are the adaptations I have been watching during February:

Ivanhoe (1952)          Read     Film     Television
Classic Hollywood film based on Sir Walter Scott’s classic novel. After watching Ivanhoe (1982) I was interested to see what this earlier adaptation was like. A sweeping and colourful historical adventure, filmed on a grand scale, starring Robert Taylor, Joan Fontaine and Elizabeth Taylor. Lacked the historical accuracy of more modern films. Okay watch.

Kingsman: The Secret Service (2015)          Not Read     Film     Cinema
An action, spy adventure based on the comic book The Secret Service written by Dave Gibbons and Mark Millar. A bloody and quirky film from Matthew Vaughn director of Kick-Ass (2010). Good performances from Colin Firth, Mark Strong, and relatively new face Taron Egerton. Good watch.

Saving Mr Banks (2013)          Film     Television
This is not an adaptation but a worthy mention here as it looks into how P L Travers’s books were adapted into the Disney musical Mary Poppins (1964). A wonderfully touching look into the relationship and process Travers and Walt Disney went through to make this classic family film. Starring in these roles the amazing Emma Thompson and Tom Hanks. Great watch.

Wolf Hall (2015)          Not Read     TV Series     Television
Historical BBC drama based on Hilary Mantel’s highly praised novels Wolf Hall and Bring up the Bodies. A sumptuous, realistic and interesting look into the work and rise of Thomas Cromwell in Henry VIII’s court. Beautiful settings, costumes and great ensemble cast. Great watch.

A mixed month of novel and comic inspired adaptations. Sadly a much lower  month of adaptation watching but that is perhaps not fair. I have only finished watching 4 adaptations but I am also currently watching 3 TV adaptations they have just not finished yet. Plus anything was going to look low compared to my mammoth 11 adaptations in January!

Have you watched any of these? What have you been watching?

16 thoughts on “Adaptations: February 2015

  1. Have you watched the newer “Rebecca” film? I thought it was quite good.

    I like your blog. I also blog about classic literature, but specifically Christian literature from the Victorian era.

    1. Hello Nadine, thank you for stopping by and commenting. It is always nice to hear from a new face 🙂 I haven’t watched the newer adaptation of Rebecca but I would like to try it.

    1. Hello Kay, thank you for stopping by and commenting. It is always lovely to hear from a new face 🙂 I haven’t heard of Eye Candy but I read loads of R L Stine’s Point Horror novels when I was teenager so that’s cool.

  2. I watched and loved Wolf Hall – it has made me want to re-read the books and I’ve made a start. Remarkable at how close the TV adaptation is! I haven’t seen the others, although I have read Ivanhoe and can imagine it adapts well to the screen. I’ve seen and read some of the others in your photo – all of them actually apart from Stardust and some of the Narnia books.

    1. Margaret, I am pleased to hear you also enjoyed Wolf Hall and that it is very close to the novel. I have it on my to-be-read pile and I am much more eager to read it after watching this series. Stardust is a wonderful film which I watched before reading the book, and while I liked the book it didn’t live up to the film. Really would have benefited from reading the book first 🙂

    1. Nikki-Ann, I can highly recommend watching Saving Mr Banks it is a delightful film. The Kingsman was good and I didn’t realise it was an adaptation till I went to see it either!

  3. I watched Wolf Hall and loved it! I was very impressed with Mark Rylance (and all of the cast, really). I’ve never seen any of the Ivanhoe adaptations, but I probably should as I enjoyed the book.

    1. Helen, I am pleased to hear you enjoyed Wolf Hall too. I hope you are able to try an Ivanhoe adaptation soon. I also enjoyed the novel and can’t believe it took me so long to get round to watching an adaptation, and then managing to watch two in a row 🙂

  4. I wanted to watch Wolf Hall – my mum and dad really enjoyed it. I’ll probably do some catch up and watch it all in a week!
    Ivanhoe – with you on that – it’s okay. Not as good as some of the oldies!
    Lynn 😀

Leave a Reply

