New Read: The Ancient Path

The Ancient Path

I am a relatively new Christian having come to faith in my late teens. Now in my twenties I like to read Christian literature to help with the growth of my faith and to hear what other Christians have to say. After finishing Love So Amazing by Pam Rhodes I chose The Ancient Path by John Michael Talbot (with Michael Aquilina Jnr) from my Kindle to-be-read folder.

Jesus died for our sins, rose from the dead and then ascended to Heaven. It was then the turn of his chosen disciples and other followers to spread the word, found and sustain the early Church. In The Ancient Path Talbot looks at the lives, teachings and influence of these founding fathers, and discusses how they can still influence and inspire us today. From reading about these founding fathers Talbot himself has formed a strong, personal faith and gone on to found his own modern day monastic community.

The Ancient Path is the first book I have read by John Michael Talbot; he is not an author I had heard of before. I was drawn to this work because I was interested to find out more about the history of the Church. History and faith being two of my favourite topics. Upon reading this book I also found that Talbot talked about his own life experience which I didn’t expect but was an added bonus. The Ancient Path is a well written and researched book which talks about an interesting range of figures from the Church’s history. I can’t say I’m an expert now however my interest has certainly been wetted and I would like to read more.

The Ancient Path is an interesting and well researched look into the founding fathers of the Church. I highly recommend to those interested in Christian non-fiction and history. Good read.

Thank you to Crown Publishing for providing a copy of this book via NetGalley in exchange for my honest opinion.

Have you read this? Any recommendations for similar faith literature?

2 thoughts on “New Read: The Ancient Path

  1. I recently read After Acts by Bryan Litfin, obtained via NetGalley, about the facts and fictions surrounding the apostles of Christ after the end of the Bible. The book was relatively short, easy to read, and very enlightening. I think you may enjoy it.

Leave a Reply

