New Read: The World Below

The World Below

Near the end of February I picked up urban fantasy The World Below, Book 1 of Mike Phillips’s Chronicles of the Goblin King. The rest of the month I had taken on some heavy reads and I hoped this would be a light, mind soothing adventure.

The World Below takes us below the human streets and homes to a rubbish tip metropolis, populated with magical creatures and ruled over by the nasty Baron Finkbeiner. The Baron is mad, seriously mad after the theft of a priceless, magical sword. He enlists, through blackmail, the help of the powerful Hume to take on goody-two-shoes Lady Elizabeth who he believes has the sword now. Meanwhile…in the human world there is Mitch. A regular guy who is trying to rebuild his life after an industrial accident but something just doesn’t seem quite normal about his apartment building’s basement or his new girlfriend, Elizabeth.

The World Below is peopled with an interesting and quite large cast of characters. Most of the story is told from Mitch’s perspective. He is a nice guy with more potential than he ever realised. I liked Mitch, Elizabeth, the cheeky goblin crew and I even liked reading about nasty Baron Finkbeiner. Sadly I neither liked nor got Hume. Matthew Hume is a human with some serious magical powers who works for the Baron only because his sister’s life is threatened. Good premise but in reality he came across as rude, cruel, petty and far nastier than the Baron. If I was meant to sympathise with him I didn’t!

This is the first book I have read by Mike Phillips. I came to know of it when the author contacted me about it. I thought The World Below was written in a fun, edgy style with some good magical elements and creatures. On the whole it was a light and soothing read for my over worked mind. Sadly the text does need some editing as there were quite a few typos and some grammar issues. Nothing serious though and they could be easily fixed. I was invested enough in the story and characters to read on regardless. I am undecided about whether I would read the rest of the series.

The World Below is a fun and light adventure in a magical world below our feet. You may like this if you enjoy urban fantasy. Okay read.

Thank you to the author for providing a copy of this book in exchange for my honest opinion.

Have you read this? Have you enjoyed other urban fantasy books?

2 thoughts on “New Read: The World Below

  1. Sounds interesting although the way you describe it puts me in mind of Gaiman’s Neverwhere – which has London Below? Glad you seemed to enjoy it.
    I’ve just read a book that I think you would love called Dreamer’s Pool by Juliet Marillier – it was great (going to review it soon).
    Lynn 😀

    1. Lynn, it is interesting to hear this sounds like Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman. I have heard of this but not read it. The only full, solo novel I have read by Gaiman is Stardust which I liked but didn’t love. Since then not been sure if I should read more by him. I am looking forward to reading your thoughts on Dreamer’s Pool by Juliet Marillier 🙂

Leave a Reply

