Adaptations: March 2015

Adaptations #2I absolutely love adaptations. I know this can sometimes be a controversial subject with book lovers but not for me. I think my real love of them came from my time studying performance at university. There I became fascinated with taking a story and telling it through a different medium; whether that be book, film, TV, or on the stage.

Here are the adaptations I watched at the end of February and during March:

1984 by George Orwell (2015)          Not Read     Play     Theatre
Amateur stage production of George Orwell’s modern classic; adapted for the stage by Matthew Dunster. A simple and effective performance which I thoroughly enjoyed. Good watch.

The Lone Ranger (2013)          Not Read     Film     Television
Western adventure inspired by The Lone Ranger franchise which has included a radio series, books, a TV series, comic books and several films. Rather cheesy but good visual effects, music, and ensemble cast; most notably Johnny Depp. Could have been great just all the elements didn’t quite gel right. Okay watch.

The Casual Vacancy (2015)         Not Read     TV Series     Television
Three part drama based on J K Rowling’s novel. I didn’t fancy reading this however I thought I would give the series a go. This is not a happy watch but a gritty, small village drama. Peopled with some pretty despicable characters played by a great ensemble cast including Michael Gambon and the wonderful Keeley Hawes. Good watch.

The Musketeers (2015)          Read     TV Series     Television
The second series of the BBC’s swashbuckling adventure based on the characters of Alexandre Dumas’ classic novel. I had been looking forward to the return of this show. Another fun, interesting and gripping mixture of adventures with great camaraderie and beautiful costumes. Good ensemble cast; with the addition of one of my favourites Marc Warren as the dastardly Rochefort. Good watch.

The Great Ghost Adventure (2011)          Read     Film     Television
Ghostly adventure based on Eva Ibbotson’s children’s novel. A light comedy for all the family. There are a great deal of changes to characters and plot. I can understand the need to modernise the story but I was surprised how much was changed considering its such a short book. Okay watch.

Five adaptations watched in March I think is a good amount. There was an interesting mix of TV, film and stage adaptations; mainly based on novels. I finished two TV series, The Casual Vacancy and The Musketeers, I am continuing with Grimm and Sleeping Hollow has just returned. Plenty more adaptation fun to look forward to in April.

Have you watched any of these? What have you been watching?

6 thoughts on “Adaptations: March 2015

  1. I’m full of praise for a long ago adaptation of the Patrick Hamilton Twenty Thousand Streets Under The Sky, which I’ve watched on DVD. Sparkling!

    Am currently watching Poldark ( never saw it first time round, never read it) but, despite good performances find the production very chocolate box with far too much stock footage of what to do – oh I know let’s have Ross riding along the cliffs, cue music; let’s have Demelza grinning her great grin and laughing and Ross watching and smouldering. It feels as if the director doesn’t trust that the audience got the message the first time!

    Not an adaptation, but, boy, I’m hooked on Jimmy McGovern’s Banished! Not at all chocolate box!

    1. Hello, thank you for stopping by and commenting. It is always nice to hear from a new face and thank you for the recommendations. I have Banished and Poldark recorded and I am hoping to catch up with them now I am on my Easter holiday 🙂

  2. You’ve just reminded me I haven’t started the second series of The Musketeers yet. I’m not sure if I’m going to watch The Casual Vacancy because even the storyline of the book didn’t really grab me. I’d be more interested in watching an adaptation of the Cormoran Strike books.

Leave a Reply

