New Books: April 2015

New Books - April #1

Hello my fellow bookworms, here’s what goodies I have managed to add to my bookshelf and Kindle recently:

Guy Martin: My Autobiography by Guy Martin

Divergent by Veronica Roth

Insurgent by Veronica Roth

Allegiant by Veronica Roth

I was lent all of these by a book loving, family friend. I have rather a soft spot for Guy Martin having watched and loved several of his TV shows on history, machines and speed so I hope I will also enjoy his autobiography. I have also recently enjoyed the two film adaptations of Veronica Roth’s Dystopian series so I am looking forward to reading these.

New Books - April #2

The Quarry by Iain Banks

The Miniaturist by Jessie Burton

Blood on the Bayou by D J Donaldson

The Martian by Andy Weir

The Quarry and The Martian have been passed on to me now my father has read them. I sadly still haven’t read anything by Banks perhaps this could be my first and I’ve heard lots of good things about The Martian. Then I was lent The Miniaturist by my mother with glowing praise for how much she enjoyed it. And finally I received a copy of supernatural, crime Blood on the Bayou for my Kindle from the publishers

Have you read any of these? What new books are you excited about?

12 thoughts on “New Books: April 2015

  1. What a great collection of books! I really enjoyed The Miniaturist, I enjoyed reading the descriptions of life in Amsterdam and thought the story wasn’t predictable. I also enjoyed the Divergent series, although didn’t love Insurgent. I’m hoping to read The Martian by the end of the year because I think the movie is coming out then.

    1. Thank you 🙂 I am pleased to hear you enjoyed The Miniaturist and the Divergent series. I hope we’re both able to read The Martian before the film adaptation comes out.

  2. I bought Guy Martin’s autobiography for my Dad last year, I may have to borrow it back to read sometime! EVen my 5 year old niece is a bit of a Guy Martin fan!

  3. Great haul! Sadly, I haven’t read any of these books. But I love the look of The Miniaturist!I keep thinking about trying the Roth series, but never seem to get around to it, but I completely missed the adaptations. Would you recommend the book or are the films any good?

  4. I read The Martian and thought it was awesome and very funny. Try reading that one first, it’s not that long and I think you will enjoy it as most people have.

  5. I’ve read and enjoyed Divergent – for some reason I haven’t picked up the second two books but it’s not due to a lack of enjoyment of the first.
    I’ve also read The Martian – which I enjoyed. I think that different people take different things from it.
    I have the Miniaturist but haven’t found time to pick it up yet so will be keen to see what you think of that – and similar with the Banks (which I do like the cover of) – will look our for your thoughts on that one.
    Enjoy.
    Lynn 😀

Leave a Reply

