New Read: The Wanderers

The Wanderers

After a wonderful Easter weekend I sadly found myself under the weather for the first week of my holiday. I decided to take comfort in escaping into the fairy tale re-imagining The Wanderers by Cheryl Mahoney.

The Wanderers introduces us to Jasper a ‘wandering adventurer’ who travels across the land fighting witches, ogres, evil wizards and rescuing young maidens. When we meet Jasper he is singlehandedly taking on an evil wizard who is turning people into stone however he is unexpectantly helped by Tom a talking cat. Jasper and Tom then go on to travel together breaking Jasper’s rule about travelling alone but Tom is a cat not a human so perhaps it doesn’t count. This is only to be the first rule that Jasper breaks. The more rules he breaks the harder his adventures get but perhaps the happier he becomes?

I would call Jasper a hero but he stubbornly prefers ‘wandering adventurer’. Hero to him means all those rich, silly and pompous princes while Jasper is a commoner who does it as a profession. I liked Jasper he is kind and brave, and there is also a lot going on under the surface to discover as well. His life is run by a set of tight, self-imposed rules one of which I have mentioned is to travel alone. Jasper breaks this rule for Tom the talking cat who I just loved. Tom is smart, witty, obsessed with fish but also loving underneath it all. I would really like my own Tom! Jasper also unexpectantly breaks this rule for Julie who he rescues from a witch. Julie is to prove that not all girls that need rescuing are just pretty, dumb and silly.

The Wanderers is the first book I read by author and fellow blogger Cheryl Mahoney. I have really been looking forward to reading this and I am pleased I have The Storyteller and Her Sisters waiting on my Kindle. I thought The Wanderers was a light, fun and well written book which is broken up into different adventures. I loved the fairy tale tropes that Mahoney used and sometimes poked a bit of fun at too; I particularly liked the lucky but useless third son. Also one of the largest adventures was a re-imagining of The Twelve Dancing Princesses which is one of my favourites from my childhood. I simply raced through this book as I enjoyed the characters, the adventures, the humour and the comforting familiarity of it.

The Wanderers is a well written, witty and charming adventure. I highly recommend if you enjoy fairy tale re-imaginings. I am really looking forward to reading The Storyteller and Her Sisters next. Great read.

Have you read this? Or some other fairy tale re-imaginings?

This charming, fairy tale re-imagining is my third read towards the Once Upon a Time IX event which is hosted by Carl V @ Stainless Steal Droppings.

8 thoughts on “New Read: The Wanderers

  1. So glad to hear you enjoyed reading The Wanderers! 🙂 Thanks for your lovely review and kind words for my characters. Jasper might be confused that you’d consider him a hero, but I’m sure Tom would agree everyone needs someone like him!

    1. Thank you Cheryl, I really did enjoy this and I am really looking forward to reading The Storyteller and Her Sisters soon. I can quite imagine Tom would think that too 😀

  2. Yay! You liked Tom! I adore him. ❤ He's one of my favourite book-cats.

    I hope you'll enjoy "The Storyteller and Her Sisters"! It's a bit different from "The Wanderers" in that it isn't nearly as episodic, but it's just as much fun. ^_^

    1. Hello Lynn, thank you for stopping by and commenting. Always lovely to hear from a new face and so pleased you’re a fan of Tom too! I hope I am able to get to The Storyteller and Her Sisters soon 🙂

Leave a Reply

