Adaptations: April 2015 (2)

Adaptations #3

I absolutely love adaptations. I know this can sometimes be a controversial subject with book lovers but not for me. I think my real love of them came from my time studying performance at university. There I became fascinated with taking a story and telling it through a different medium; whether that be book, film, TV, or on the stage.

Here are more adaptations I watched during April:

The NeverEnding Story II (1990)          Not Read     Film     Television
Fantasy sequel inspired by the second half of Michael Ende’s novel. I watched all three films as a child but I feel the first film is by far the more superior hence why it is the only one I own on DVD. This sequel was easy, fantasy fun which passed a lazy Saturday afternoon. Okay watch.

The Adventurer: The Curse of the Midas Box (2014)     Not Read     Film     Television
Fantasy adventure based on the Mariah Mundi novels by G P Taylor. A young man is thrown into a world of treachery, magical antiquities and steampunk machinery. I totally missed this when it was released at the cinema, where it sadly received poor reviews. I thought it was a bit of fun though, with a good ensemble cast including plenty of well known faces. Okay watch.

The Maze Runner (2014)          Not Read     Film     DVD
Dystopian, action thriller based on the young adult novel by James Dashner. I thought the concept of a group of young men being tested in a lethal and mind-boggling maze was fascinating; with great special effects and interesting characters. I am so pleased I was lent this on DVD by a friend and I look forward to the upcoming release of the sequel. Good watch.

Edge of Tomorrow (2014)          Not Read     Film     Television
Science fiction blockbuster based on the Japanese novel All You Need Is Kill by Hiroshi Sakurazaka. A soldier relives a brutal battle over and over again in a sadistic, Groundhog Day style, loop to find a way to destroy the aliens. I thought this would be good but I got so much more with this twisted, brilliant concept. Amazing special effects, interesting time cuts, and great performances from Tom Cruise and Emily Blunt. Great watch.

Poldark (2015)          Not Read     TV Series     Television
BBC costume drama based on the first two novels from the Poldark series by Winston Graham. Ross Poldark returns home to try to resurrect his family’s mine. A stark and often heart breaking portrayal of life in Cornwall in the late 1700s, brought to life by a good and rather attractive ensemble cast, in stunning scenery and beautiful costumes. I look forward to series 2. Good watch.

That’s another 5 adaptations watched which when added to the previous 6 makes the grand total 11 adaptations for April; a great month which has only been matched in January. The Easter bank holiday really helped bump up my numbers. I am looking forward to seeing what adaptations I watch in May, as I have 3 TV adaptations on the go and I really must go see the new Avengers film at the cinema.

Have you watched any of these? What have you been watching?

8 thoughts on “Adaptations: April 2015 (2)

  1. I heard really good things about The Maze Runner and Edge of Tomorrow, so it’s good to hear you enjoyed them too. Poldark looks so good. Do you think you will ever read the book (books? I feel like there’s more than one).

    1. I hope you have the chance to see all three of these, they’re all worth a watch especially Edge of Tomorrow. I’m not sure if I would or wouldn’t read the Poldark series. I know there are a lot of books in it! The series would give me plenty of reading material perhaps I will consider it when I finish off some of the series I’m already reading.

  2. Love Edge of Tomorrow! I have seen it three times – first in the theater – and then I got my parents, and then my friend to watch it with me. Blunt’s character, Rita Vrataski, is one of my favorite action heroes now. Definitely agree about the editing, how it is revealed bit by bit during the later scenes how often this part has been repeated by the characters. There’s a particularly powerful sequence, where we see Rita dead over and over again, and then the toll that takes on Cruise’s character.

    1. Christy so pleased to hear you enjoyed Edge of Tomorrow three times! I am especially pleased you thought the editing was effective too. I thought it was cool and clever.

  3. Watched The Never Ending Story which is a lovely film – although I haven’t read the book either so can’t compare. I fancied Poldark but didn’t find time – perhaps I’ll do a catch-up with that one.
    Lynn 😀

Leave a Reply

