Adaptations: May 2015

Adaptations #2

I absolutely love adaptations. I know this can sometimes be a controversial subject with book lovers but not for me. I think my real love of them came from my time studying performance at university. There I became fascinated with taking a story and telling it through a different medium; whether that be book, film, TV, or on the stage.

Here are the adaptations I watched during May:

Avengers: Age of Ultron (2015)          Not Read     Film     Cinema
An action-packed superhero adventure based on Marvel characters created by Stan Lee and Jack Kirby, and sequel to The Avengers (2012). The team must work together to defeat one of Stark’s creations, Ultron, that’s gone disastrously wrong. Another enjoyable watch with impressive special effects, high octane pace, epic fight scenes, and more amusing one liners. The regular cast are also joined by some new faces too. Good watch.

Paddington (2014)          Not Read     Film     Apple TV
British, family adventure based on Paddington Bear by Michael Bond. I haven’t read any of the stories but I have fond, childhood memories of the BBC’s Paddington series. A young bear comes to London from deepest, darkest Peru to London seeking a new home. A fun, modern adaptation of this loveable character and his comical adventures. Good watch.

The Enfield Haunting (2015)          Not Read     TV Series     Television
British, supernatural drama based on the true life events, recounted in This House Is Haunted by Guy Lyon Playfair. Paranormal investigators, Grosse and Playfair, try to help a family in 1977, who are being plagued by scary phenomenon. A case which is to become known as ‘The Enfield Poltergeist’. I had heard of this case and it was fascinating to find out more about it. A ghostly, mystery with a strong ensemble cast, including Matthew Macfadyen and Timothy Spall, I watched all 3 episodes in a row! Great watch.

City of Ember (2008)         Not Read     Film     Television
Science-fiction, family adventure based on Jeanne DuPrau’s novel. Humans have been living underground for over 200 years but as the generator starts to fail, two young friends must find a way to escape. Sadly this film was a flop at the cinema so the rest of the series wasn’t made. I enjoyed it though. It was a gentle and fun adventure, far less gritty than the more recent young adult, dystopian tales. Okay watch.

Atlantis (2015)          Read     TV Series     Television
The 2nd half of series 2 of the BBC’s fantasy adventure based on Greek mythology. The legendary hero Jason, and his friends Hercules, Pythagoras, and princess Ariadne fight evil to protect the legendary city of Atlantis. A fun and thrilling series. The only problem being they introduced the Argos and the legendary journey at the end of the series, however the show has just been axed…so we will never know! I will miss this series. Good watch.

Inspector George Gently (2015)          Not Read     TV Series     Television
The 7th series of British, crime drama based on Alan Hunter’s Gently novels. I love the atmospheric and nostalgic 1960’s setting which is brought to life so realistically in this series. I also love the relationship between Gently, his sergeant Bacchus, and PC Rachel Coles, wonderfully portrayed by Martin Shaw, Lee Ingleby and Lisa McGrillis. Great watch.

May has been a really good month of films and TV shows. I have enjoyed old favourites like Paddington, Atlantis and Gently, and then new discoveries too. These are just the adaptations I finished though. I am still watching the 4th series of Grimm and the 5th series of Game of Thrones. Plus I have the 2nd series of Sleep Hollow and Penny Dreadful, and the BBC’s new drama Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell to start. I look forward to sharing with you what I watch in June.

Have you watched any of these? What have you been watching recently?

6 thoughts on “Adaptations: May 2015

  1. I often have difficulty with adaptations and find it’s better if I haven’t read the book first, or if I read the book a while ago and have forgotten the details. My problem with them is when they don’t follow the plot, or change the characters too much. But there are adaptations that I have liked – Atonement, being one.

    From the ones you’ve watched this month I watched the Inspector George Gently series and enjoyed it very much. I’ve read a few of the Gently books – and of course they are different from the TV version – a younger George for one thing, not in Northumberland for another, no Baccus or Rachel Coles either. I prefer the TV version!

    1. Margaret I can sympathise. I know that when making an adaptation changes will need to be made, as films aren’t books obviously, but as you said if too much of the story, characters or mood of the book is lost I am not impressed. There are some amazing adaptations out there. I am happy to watch adaptations of books I have and haven’t read.

      I love the Inspector George Gently series 🙂 Although I knew the books weren’t set in Northumberland, I didn’t know there was no Bacchus; that’s terrible. Gently and Bacchus’ chemistry is what really makes the show. This has slightly put me off reading the books now.

  2. Ooh, The Enfield Haunting looks really good, need give it a try. I love and hate adaptations, but I’m always hopeful 🙂 Can’t wait for Strange & Norrell.

    1. Ah Carmen I would love to be behind on Game of Thrones and thus able to watch them in a row. As I’m watching it live…I have to wait a whole week for the next episode!! I hope you continue to love it 🙂

Leave a Reply

