New Books: June 2015

New Books - June 2015 #1

Hello my fellow bookworms, here’s what goodies I have managed to add to my bookshelf and Kindle recently:

Mansfield Park by Jane Austen

Agnes Grey by Anne Brontë

The Collected Works of Charles Dickens

North and South by Elizabeth Gaskell

The Journey by John A Heldt

A Little Princess by Frances Hodgson Burnett

Named of the Dragon by Susanna Kearsley

Kim by Rudyard Kipling

Added to my Kindle this month are 7 novels, and a large collection of novels and short stories. Mansfield Park, Agnes Grey, North and South, A Little Princess, Kim and several Dickens novels are on my Classics Club list. I technically already have a Charles Dickens collection, but this new one is more extensive. Whilst I decided to download The Journey (Northwest Passage Book 2) after I read The Mine (Northwest Passage Book 1) last year and enjoyed it. All these I picked up for free from Amazon (UK). Then finally I received a copy of Named of the Dragon through Netgalley; I love Kearsley’s books so couldn’t resist this.

New Books - June 2015 #2

Frenchman’s Creek by Daphne du Maurier

Going Postal by Terry Pratchett

Hogfather by Terry Pratchett

Then I added modern classic Frenchman’s Creek, and comical fantasies Going Postal and Hogfather to my bookshelf after a visit to my favourite charity bookshop. I love Daphne du Maurier and Terry Pratchett, and it is a personal goal of mine to read all of their books.

Have you read any of these? What new books are you excited about?

16 thoughts on “New Books: June 2015

  1. Oo, very good picks 🙂 Never heard a bad word about A Little Princess and North and South and Mansfield Park are definitely ones to read. I like your goals 🙂

    1. Thank you Charlie 🙂 I am really looking forward to reading Mansfield Park for the Austen in August event. Hopefully won’t be long till I get round to reading A Little Princess and North and South as well.

  2. I’ve read Mansfield Park and Frenchman’s Creek and enjoyed both – but then they’re written by authors that I like so I guess that figures. I’ve also read a few Kipling including Kim.
    North and South I bought absolutely ages ago and really wanted to read – in fact the author lived fairly close and her house has been turned into a small museum called Elizabeth Gaskell House (creatively enough). I don’t think that’s the reason I picked up the book originally though – in fact I’m sure it was a series on tv and that’s what caught my interest. As it happens I still haven’t read it – one day though.
    Lynn 😀

    1. Lynn, I am really looking forward to reading Mansfield Park for the Austen in August event. While Frenchman’s Creek may have to wait a little as I already have Jamaica Inn by Daphne du Maurier on my to-be-read pile. And I do believe there was a BBC adaptation of North and South. I hope you get round to reading it one day 🙂

  3. I like your book selections. I read Frenchman’s Creek long ago and this may be the time to read it again. I had not heard of Named of the Dragon, I will check into it.

    1. Hello Terra, thank you for stopping by and commenting. It is always lovely to hear from a new face 🙂 I am really looking forward to Frenchman’s Creek however I do already have Jamaica Inn by Daphne du Maurier on my to-be-read pile, so may read this first.

  4. That’s a great selection of new books. I really enjoyed Named of the Dragon – I hope you do too! Frenchman’s Creek is one of the only du Maurier books I haven’t read yet, but I love the sound of it.

    1. Thank you Helen 🙂 I am really looking forward to Named of the Dragon and Frenchman’s Creek. I do however already have 2 novels by Susanna Kearsley and Jamaica Inn by Daphne du Maurier on my to-be-read pile, so may read some of these first.

  5. I agree, what a wonderful selection of books. I enjoyed North and South and Mansfield Park very much, but I don’t think you an go wrong with any of these books.

    1. Thank you 🙂 I am looking forward to finally reading something by Elizabeth Gaskell, so North and South could be the one. Plus Mansfield Park is the last novel I need to read by Austen. I am hoping to read it in August for the Austen in August event.

    1. Thank you Carmen, and I am pleased to hear you got a copy of Named of the Dragon too. I hope you enjoy it. I now have 3 novels by Susanna Kearsley on my to-be-read pile. We will have to see which one I get to first.

  6. What a lovely array of books. I can particularly recommend ‘North and South’ and ‘A Little Princess’ and I love Susanna Kearsley so I’ll be looking forward to reading what you think about that book.

    1. Thank you Fleur 🙂 I am looking forward to finally reading something by Elizabeth Gaskell, so North and South could be the one. A Little Princess is fortuitous too as I read and loved Little Women, and I have been looking forward to reading more by Frances Hodgson Burnett since. I now have 3 novels by Susanna Kearsley on my to-be-read pile…we will see which one I go for first.

Leave a Reply

