Challenge: Once Upon a Time IX Wrap Up

Once Upon a Time 9

(Art by Kimberly Kincaid. Used with Permission)

Spring has ended and Summer has begun which is a positive for the weather but sadly means we have to say goodbye to The Once Upon a Time IX event, hosted by Carl V @ Stainless Steal Droppings. I had signed up for The Journey level which meant I was aiming to read at least one book for the event. Here’s what I actually managed to read:

1. A Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness – I thought this was a detailed and well written paranormal romance with an interesting measure of history, magic and art. The first book in the All Souls trilogy, I look forward to reading more.

2. The Two Towers by J R R Tolkien – This was a comforting re-read of an intricate, epic, and enchanting tale. I look forward to re-reading The Return of the King next.

3. The Wanderers by Cheryl Mahoney – I thought this was a well written, witty and charming adventure by author and fellow blogger Cheryl.

4. Mort by Terry Pratchett – This was another darkly funny adventure. Pratchett is a well loved author of mine and I was very sad to hear of his passing. I hope to eventually work my way through the whole Discworld series.

5. Tolkien by Devin Brown – Although I was disappointed that this didn’t seem to be written for a British audience. I still thought this was an interesting and detailed biography of the life and what went on to inspire the author J R R Tolkien to create his wonderful, fantasy novels.

6. The Storyteller and Her Sisters by Cheryl Mahoney – I adored The Wanderers so couldn’t wait to move on to this. Another well written and charming adventure.

Woohoo! I think 6 is perhaps the most I have ever completed, in any year I have taken part, in this event, and I have really enjoyed my reading too. Here’s a few, quick meme questions to sum up my reading:

Best: The Two Towers by J R R Tolkien.

Most Recommended-to-Others: The Wanderers by Cheryl Mahoney.

Most Anticipated: The Storyteller and Her Sisters by Cheryl Mahoney.

Most Hilarious: Mort by Terry Pratchett.

Most Thrilling, Unputdownable: A Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness.

Most Beautifully Written: The Two Towers by J R R Tolkien.

Most Memorable Character: Samwise Gamgee from The Two Towers. I am rather in love with Sam. I also loved discovering Tom, the talking cat, in The Wanderers by Cheryl Mahoney.

New Series You Discovered: Just one new series; the All Souls trilogy by Deborah Harkness.

New Authors Discovered: I am rather impressed that I discovered 3 new authors during this event; Deborah Harkness, Cheryl Mahoney and Devin Brown.

Favourite Cover: A Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness.

I now look forward eagerly to Carl V’s R.I.P event in the Autumn. Not that I am wishing Summer away!

Did you take part in Once Upon a Time IX? What was your favourite read?

14 thoughts on “Challenge: Once Upon a Time IX Wrap Up

  1. I loved all the books I read for this challenge. I went with Quest the Second because I liked the idea of trying to read from different categories. I also read Mort not long ago and need to do more Discworld at some point. Maybe for next year’s challenge!

    1. Lory I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed the event too and I think this event would be perfect for reading some more Discworld 🙂 I probably should one year try a different level/category in this event but The Journey level just works so well for me.

  2. I need to do a round-up post for this. I read 7 this year (I think). I had a couple that I could have posted but actually they weren’t books that I really liked so decided not to. Also looking forward to RIP in Autumn.
    Well done to you with your best year yet. I’m also not wishing summer away – although to be honest – as it even started yet!!!
    Lynn 😀

    1. Thank you Lynn 🙂 I look forward to your round-up post. Also you’re probably right summer doesn’t really feel like its arrived. Had two glorious days here this week but back to rain again today!

  3. You’ve done a lot better than I did! I only managed to read one book for this challenge (Uprooted by Naomi Novik). I’m looking forward to R.I.P. now too. 🙂

  4. Ah your wrap-up reminded me I never got around to reading a Terry Pratchett book for the challenge! Ah well. You got through some long books for your challenge!

    1. Thank you Amanda, I am pleased to have read A Discovery of Witches and The Two Towers as their both long novels. I simply flew through them though! Ah I’m sorry you didn’t manage to read a Terry Pratchett novel for the event. Hopefully you’ll be able to read one soon 🙂

  5. Whoo! Congratulations on reading so many books! I’m glad to hear you enjoyed all of them. I loved Mort when I read it. It was one of my first ventures into Discworld. I haven’t looked back since.

Leave a Reply

