Adaptations: June 2015

Adaptations

I absolutely love adaptations. I know this can sometimes be a controversial subject with book lovers but not for me. I think my real love of them came from my time studying performance at university. There I became fascinated with taking a story and telling it through a different medium; whether that be book, film, TV, or on the stage.

Here are the adaptations I watched during June:

Sleepy Hollow (2015)          Not Read     TV Series     Television
The concluding half of series 2 of supernatural drama, based on Washington Irving’s short story The Legend of Sleepy Hollow. An up-to-date retelling where the headless huntsman, demons, witches and ghosts meet the modern world. I still loved the camaraderie between Ichabod Crane and Lieutenant Abigail Mills, but there were some weak episodes. Okay watch.

Game of Thrones (2015)          Not Read      TV Series      Television
Lavish fifth series of this epic fantasy drama, based on George R R Martin’s A Song of Ice and Fire series. Another gripping series of war, intrigue, family, politics, love, lust, lies and dragons! This would usually be a great watch for me but by the end of this series I was left with an overwhelming sense of sadness, and for that reason this time it is a … Good watch.

Looking at this it doesn’t look like I had a very good month of adaptations in June. At the time though it didn’t feel like that though. I’ve just been watching several long TV series. I also re-watched a couple of Harry Potter films, which ITV has been showing on Saturday afternoons/evenings. I didn’t do a write-up though because I re-watch them too often, and you’d be sick of the sight of them! I am still watching the epic, 4th series of Grimm and the BBC’s new drama Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell. Then I have the 2nd series of Penny Dreadful and the 3rd series of Hannibal to start. So hopefully plenty to share with you in July.

Have you watched any of these? What have you been watching recently?

10 thoughts on “Adaptations: June 2015

    1. Lynn, the first one and half series of Sleepy Hollow was a good, solid watch with humour, camaraderie and some fantasy horror. The concluding half of this series I enjoyed but it just wasn’t as good as previously. So I would still recommend giving it a go 🙂

  1. I was sad when Game of Thrones ended for this series, so I decided to read the books. It may sound silly, but it makes me so happy to be reunited with certain characters who were killed off a long time ago. Have you started watching Hannibal yet? I convinced my husband to watch the first series with me, so it’s been fun to start at from beginning.

    1. I wasn’t sad because the series ended. I was sad because so many horrible things happened! I can totally understand how it would be nice to catch up with characters in the books which died long ago in the TV show. I am hoping to read A Feast for Crows soon.

      I haven’t started Hannibal yet. I am pleased to hear you’ve been enjoying it with your husband. I have just finished the epic, 4th series of Grimm though, so will hopefully have time to start another show now.

  2. I don’t pay for HBO, so the other day my cable provider was offering some HBO viewing for free and I started watching season 5 of Games of Thrones. I had finished episode 7 and wanted to leave the last two for the next day and when I went to watch them the offer had expired! Imagine my dismay! Anyways, I vaguely know something major happens at the end of the season, but aside from that I know nothing. Now I have to wait until the season is out for sale to watch the whole thing again and this time finish it. 😦

    1. Aww sorry to hear that Carmen! We can hardly wait from week to week to watch the new episode of Game of Thrones; let alone having to wait till it comes out on DVD. I hope the time doesn’t drag for you.

  3. I’ve watched some of Sleepy Hollow and all of Game of Thrones… my feeling about GoT as an adaptation is that when it adapts something well, it does it REALLY WELL (this season: the storyline in Braavos with Arya, the battle at Hardhome)… but when it misses the mark, it does so spectacularly badly (this season: the storyline in Dorne, Stannis’ character in general).

    The fist two episodes of season 3 of Hannibal were a little slow…. but 3 was good, and 4 was absolutely incredible. I think Hannibal might be my favourite adaptation of something ever: they honour the source material, but they’ve also changed so many things for the better (more racial and gender diversity, no sexual violence, a more interesting backstory for Hannibal, more character development for Will… the list goes on an on!).

    1. Jenn, I am a book behind on the Game of Thrones adaptation so I can’t comment completely on the changes made to the storyline. Although there is a big storyline that I was waiting for which still hasn’t happened in the TV show. My main problem seemed to be everything that happened was so negative, and apart from Tyrion there was nothing amusing to balance it out. I don’t know if that’s due to changes or just my personal taste though. I hope to read A Feast for Crows soon.

      I am pleased to hear you have been enjoying the 3rd series of Hannibal. I look forward to watching it even more now 🙂

  4. I loved the first season of Sleepy Hollow but the second season really lost ground because it was so obvious they had no clue what to do with Katrina. I’m hoping the third season reboot will get it back on track. I love how Crane interacts with the modern world in his old-fashioned ways. It’s silly but fun!

    1. Hello MzCaledonia, thank you for stopping by and commenting. It is always nice to hear from a new face 🙂 I agree the 2nd series of Sleep Hollow really did seem to struggle with Katrina, but I did still love Crane’s funny reactions to modern life too. Fingers crossed the 3rd series is back to its old form.

Leave a Reply

