Meme: Six in Six 2015

Blog Post #4

The Six in Six meme is the brain child of Jo at The Book Jotter, and this is its 4th year! I am joining in again as I think it is a fun and easy way to reflect on my reading half way through the year. So here goes six authors/books in six different categories from the last six months:

Six new authors to me:

  1. Frances Hodgson Burnett
  2. Deborah Harkness
  3. Joanna Hickson
  4. Peter Ackroyd
  5. Cheryl Mahoney
  6. Veronica Roth

Six authors I have read before:

  1. Dan Brown
  2. Susanna Kearsley
  3. J R R Tolkien
  4. Arthur Conan Doyle
  5. Terry Pratchett
  6. Suzannah Dunn

Six authors I am looking forward to reading more of:

  1. Susanna Kearsley
  2. J R R Tolkien
  3. Terry Pratchett
  4. Deborah Harkness
  5. Veronica Roth
  6. Charlotte Bronte

Six historical books I have enjoyed the most:

  1. Mariana by Susanna Kearsley
  2. The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett
  3. Red Rose, White Rose by Joanna Hickson
  4. The Casebook of Sherlock Holmes by Arthur Conan Doyle
  5. Rebellion by Peter Ackroyd
  6. The Lady of Misrule by Suzannah Dunn

Six fantasy books I have enjoyed the most:

  1. The Fellowship of the Ring by J R R Tolkien (re-read)
  2. The Two Towers by J R R Tolkien (re-read)
  3. The Wanderers by Cheryl Mahoney
  4. A Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness
  5. Mort by Terry Pratchett
  6. The Storyteller and Her Sisters by Cheryl Mahoney

Six series of books read, continued or started:

  1. The Lord of the Rings by J R R Tolkien (re-read)
  2. Chronicles of the Goblin King by Mike Phillips
  3. A Very Brief History by Mark Black
  4. All Souls by Deborah Harkness
  5. Discworld by Terry Pratchett
  6. Divergent by Veronica Roth

What new books and authors have you discovered? What have been your favourites so far this year? Please let me know if you have taken part in this meme too.

15 thoughts on “Meme: Six in Six 2015

  1. I enjoyed reading your lists and there are so many books and authors you have chosen that I don’t know much about, so lots for me to investigate! A Discovery of Witches is on my to read pile. I really like doing this meme and thinking back about what I’ve been reading.

    1. Hello Lindsay, thank you for stopping by and commenting. It is always lovely to hear from a new face. I am pleased to hear I have given you plenty of authors and books to think about. I am popping over now to see your post 🙂

  2. Wow, that’s good company to be in with Tolkien and Pratchett… 🙂

    I don’t have my reading for the year so far in front of me to answer more extensively, but one new series I’ve been enjoying is Rick Riordan’s Heroes of Olympus books. And I’ve enjoyed rereading Harry Potter and the Little House on the Prairie books too.

    1. Very good company Cheryl 🙂 A re-read of Harry Potter sounds lovely. I am pleased to hear you’ve been enjoying the Heroes of Olympus series. I would really like to read it too and I need to finish off the Kane Chronicles.

      1. I liked the Kane Chronicles and the Percy Jackson series, but Heroes of Olympus may be my favorite Riordan series… It is the freshest in my mind so that could be influencing me, but I’m having a really good time with it!

  3. It’s been decades since I read The Lord of the Rings trilogy, but I remember being totally enthralled! Beginning a series is a big commitment so I am often reluctant, but this seems to be the year for it. I’m enjoying Trollope’s The Barsetshire Chronicles and Elena Ferrante’s Neopolitan novels.

    1. Hello JoAnn, thank you for stopping by and commenting. I can’t seem to stop reading series and trilogies, they just seem to be the books I enjoy the most 🙂 Good luck with Trollope’s The Barsetshire Chronicles I know its long, as another blogger Helen of She Reads Novels is reading them too. While Ferrante’s Neopolitan novels seem to be popping up on a lot of blogs I read.

  4. I love this meme! I’ve enjoyed Red Rose, White Rose this year too and am in the middle of The Lady of Misrule at the moment. You’ve also reminded me that I need to finish reading the All Souls trilogy.

    1. Helen, I love this meme too! I hope your enjoying The Lady of Misrule, and that you get round to finishing the All Souls trilogy; that’s something I need to work on too.

Leave a Reply

