New Read: Titanic

Titanic

In 2013 I collected twenty-one and read six of Mark Black’s A Very Brief History series; while I have enjoyed these I sadly only read one in 2014. In an effort to remedy this in 2015 I picked up Titanic, my 2nd from this series this year, in June.

Before reading this I had of course heard of the tragedy of the Titanic. Just after the release of the award-winning film I was fascinated to find out as much as possible about the real life event. So it will be no surprise to you that I didn’t learn the greatest deal from this read. This brief history is broken down into chapters on the construction, mail and cargo, sea trials, passengers and crew, the departure, and the subsequent sinking, rescue, survivors and press frenzy. It was the construction, departure and survivors chapters that I found the most interesting. There were survivors I had not heard about before.

I am glad I discovered Mark Black and his A Very Brief History series in 2013. Now this is called a very brief history and they aren’t lying if you are someone looking for an in-depth history of the Titanic or any history you won’t find it in this series. However I think this series can be a good introduction that can give you a good idea of what you might want to read more about. Personally I would like to read more about the survivors of this tragedy. Again I thought this was a clear, concise and well-written instalment with easy bite-size chapters. I polished this off in just two sittings. However there were a few typos and some of the information was Americanised e.g. sometimes only giving prices and values in dollars.

Titanic is a quick, easy and interesting introduction to the tragedy of this infamous ship. I recommend to those interested in reading more about history. I have twelve editions still to go. Okay read.

Can you recommend any books about the Titanic?

4 thoughts on “New Read: Titanic

  1. My friend (Wondrous Reads blog) loves stories about Titanic. She buys everything she sees that’s related – I’ll have to ask her what she particularly recommends.
    Lynn 😀

  2. I remember when you first started reading this series as you inspired me to download some and I have read this one. I’ll be keeping an eye on the comments as I would like to read something on the Titanic too.

Leave a Reply

