New Books: July 2015 (1)

New Books - July

Hello my fellow bookworms, here’s what goodies I have managed to add to my bookshelf and Kindle recently:

The Professor by Charlotte Brontë

Cranford by Elizabeth Gaskell

Wives and Daughters by Elizabeth Gaskell

The Wind in the Willows by Kenneth Grahame

Master of Shadows by Neil Oliver

Added to my Kindle this month are 5 novels. The Professor, Cranford, Wives and Daughters and The Wind in the Willows are all on my Classics Club list. All of which I picked up for free from Amazon (UK). I am particularly excited to finally read something by Elizabeth Gaskell. Then I received a copy of Master of Shadows through Netgalley. I have enjoyed many of Neil Oliver’s history documentaries so I couldn’t resist finding out what his fiction might be like.

Innocence by Dean Koontz

Trouble at the Little Village School by Gervase Phinn

The School Inspector Calls! by Gervase Phinn

Added to my shelf this month are 3 books. In June I enjoyed The Little Village School by Gervase Phinn, the first Barton-in-the-Dale novel. These are the next two books in the series which I am pleased the same family friend has been able to lend me. Although not photographed above the last but not least addition to my shelf is Innocence. My father just finished reading it and passed it on to me; with high praise.

Have you read any of these? What new books are you excited about?

14 thoughts on “New Books: July 2015 (1)

  1. The Wind in the Willows is *lovely.* And I’ll be curious what you think of The Professor. I love Charlotte Bronte’s writing style so I’m willing to roll right along with whatever she writes, but I always wonder what other people think of her other (that is, not Jane Eyre) novels.

    1. Cheryl I am really looking forward to The Wind in the Willows 🙂 As for Charlotte Bronte, I thought Jane Eyre was beautifully written but I found the character of Jane annoying! Recently though I read Shirley, and enjoyed the story and characters. So I look forward to seeing what The Professor is like.

  2. I’ve read both Cranford and Wives and Daughters. They are both wonderful books, and just so perfectly capture the milieu of small English villages (not that I would know if she was incorrect in her depiction, but it all feels so alive and tangible in her books.)

    1. Thank you for your thoughts Christy. I love it when an author can bring a world from the past back to life. I am looking forward to reading Cranford and Wives and Daughters even more now 🙂

  3. I hope you like Elizabeth Gaskell – I really enjoyed Cranford but haven’t read Wives and Daughters yet. I received Master of Shadows from Netgalley too. 🙂

    1. Thank you Helen, I am really looking forward to trying Gaskell. I have been recommended to try Cranford. I hope you enjoy Master of Shadows it sounds fascinating. I was meant to be on a, self imposed, galley requesting ban but I saw his name and description, and just couldn’t help myself!

    1. Hello Tracey, thank you for stopping by and commenting. Always lovely to hear from a new face 🙂 I didn’t know Neil Oliver was writing fiction either until I spotted this. I think it might be his debut novel.

  4. I have read any of them but the Bronte and Gaskells are on my list; I’ll be interested in knowing what you think of The Professor in particular. I’m looking forward to the Angela Thirkell I recently got and, despite the fact I could’ve already read it, Wake.

    1. Charlie, I am looking forward to reading The Professor. Having already read two novels by Charlotte though, I feel I need to give Anne a chance next. In particular I have been recommended The Tenant of Wildfel Hall. I hope you enjoy your new books too.

Leave a Reply

