New Read: The Praying Woman’s Devotional

The Praying Woman's Devotional

As a practicing Christian I like to read Christian literature to help with the growth of my faith and to hear what other Christians have to say. After finishing Beautiful Attitudes by Scott Evans I chose to read The Praying Woman’s Devotional by Stormie Omartian; my 4th Omartian read.

In a previous book, The Power of a Praying Woman, Omartian reached out to all women who believe in God and his son Jesus Christ, to make prayer a keystone in their lives. In The Praying Woman’s Devotional Omartian continues this idea by suggesting themes, prayers and scripture that can help women to pray.

The book is broken down into more chapters than I could count. Each one has a theme, and begins with a piece of scripture to read and consider. Then there is Omartian’s thoughts and reflections on the theme and scripture. Then each chapter finishes with a unique prayer. I thought the short and neat chapters were a perfect structure, which made it easy to read one chapter a day/night. I have also enjoyed the structure of Omartian’s previous books. I think it is something she is very good at. This structure, and scripture and prayer suggestions were really easy and comforting for me to read. However could be even better for those wishing to read the Bible but who aren’t sure where to begin.

I first discovered Stormie Omartian in 2014 and I have read pretty much everything by her I have been able to get my hands on since. I picked this newest book up in April (2015), don’t let how long it took me to read it daunt you though. I simply took my time. Reading one or two chapters a day/night, and I found it a very effective way to enhance my daily, personal prayer and Bible reading time. There was far less discussion of Omartian’s own personal experiences, however that suited this book which felt more personal for me, as the reader. I was again impressed with the writing, and how many themes and elements in a Christian’s life Omartian managed to cover.

The Praying Woman’s Devotional was an inspiring read for me. I look forward to reading more by Omartian. I highly recommend to women interested in enhancing their personal prayer and Bible reading time. Great read.

Thank you to Harvest House Publishers for providing a copy of this book via NetGalley in exchange for my honest opinion.

Have you read anything by Stormie Omartian? Any recommendations for other faith literature?

3 thoughts on “New Read: The Praying Woman’s Devotional

  1. One of my all-time favorite books is The Princess by Lori Wick. I’m not a huge reader of Christian fiction but I have loved this book for years and have read it many times. I’ve also enjoyed the Women of the West series from Janette Oke.

    1. Maren, thank you for your recommendations. I too haven’t really read much Christian fiction either. Other than The Chronicles of Narnia and The Screwtape Letters by C S Lewis. It would be nice to read more. I’ve heard of Janette Oke before but Lori Wick is new to me. I just googled The Princess though and liked the sound of it.

      1. You’re welcome. The Janette Oke and Lori Wick books are more Christian romance than anything close to Chronicles of Narnia. They’re nice quick reads.

Leave a Reply

