Adaptations: July 2015

Adaptations #3

Hello my fellow bookworms and adaptation lovers, here are the adapted films and TV series I watched during July:

Grimm (2015)          Read     TV Series     Television
The 4th series of the fantastical, crime drama inspired by the Brothers Grimm’s Fairy Tales. Nick Burkhart and the Portland police force not only need to tackle human criminals, but also fairy tale and mythological creatures. Likeable characters, and interesting creatures and crimes. On top of which this series had some real, shocking twists and turns. Good watch.

Jurassic World (2015)          Not Read     Film     Cinema
The 4th science fiction blockbuster in the Jurassic Park series, based on Michael Crichton’s novel. I have loved all of these films, and this new one was no exception. This time they’ve not just got a park but a whole resort-styled world of dinosaurs. However a new genetically modified creature is to cause mayhem. Great characters, action, and CGI; then you have that classic theme music. Don’t blink you might miss something! Great watch.

Dracula Untold (2014)          Read     Film     Television
Fantasy, horror prequel to Bram Stoker’s classic novel. Prince Vlad, wishing to protect his family and people from the Ottoman empire, seeks the help of an ancient and evil power. A lavish historical drama, with spectacular fight scenes, and great performances by Luke Evans, Dominic Cooper and Charles Dance. Great watch.

Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell (2015)        Not Read     TV Series     Television
Fantasy BBC costume drama based on Susanna Clarke’s novel. During the Napoleonic wars, Strange and Norrell, two magicians work to bring magic back to England. A lavish and fascinating series with a surreal twist. There is also a great ensemble cast. Featuring Marc Warren, one of my favourites, as a scheming fairy. Great watch.

Wayward Pines (2015)          Not Read     TV Series     Television
Science-fiction drama based on the novels by Blake Crouch. Agent Ethan Burke awakes in a mysterious, small town after a car accident. To find he can neither leave nor contact the outside world. A gripping series, full of twists and turns, starring Matt Dillon, Toby Jones and Juliette Lewis.Warning: serious cliff hanger ending! Great watch.

I have had a great adaptation month, with great quality and quantity. As well as those featured above I also re-watched the final Harry Potter films; shown by ITV on Saturday evenings. Again no write-up because I re-watch them too often, and you’d be sick of the sight of them!  Then I still have the 2nd series of Penny Dreadful and the 3rd series of Hannibal to start. Plus brand new series Black Sails, a prequel to Robert Louis Stevenson’s Treasure Island. So hopefully plenty to share with you again in August.

Have you watched any of these? What have you been watching recently?

8 thoughts on “Adaptations: July 2015

  1. Although The Imitation Game is beautifully done visually, it has some important inaccuracies that surprised me. I’d already read a good bit about Turing, but ordered a biography to check. The Guardian did some excellent articles about the inaccuracies: here and here.

    I’ve enjoyed Grimm. Read the Wayward Pines books, but have only watched the first in the tv series.

    1. Hello Jenclair, thank you for stopping by and commenting 🙂 I’m afraid I can’t comment on The Imitation Game as I haven’t seen it. I am pleased to hear you also enjoyed Grimm though and I hope you are able to finish watching Wayward Pines 🙂

  2. Strange and Norrell was great. I haven’t finished it but will do so.
    The Imitation Game is an excellent film – I completely agree with Margaret on that one.
    I enjoyed the new Jurassic movie – very entertaining and the soundtrack is so good.
    Lynn 😀

    1. Hello Tracey, I am pleased to hear you like Grimm too, but oops I was meant to put series 4 not 2! I am going to change that now 🙂 I hope you are able to catch Wayward Pines. It is well worth a watch and Matt Dillon is very good in it; he should be in more things.

  3. I watched some of Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell, very good. I’d read the book a long time ago, but the TV version seemed to follow the story as far as I remembered it and a lot easier to watch than to read the book (over 1,000 pages).

    I’ve recently watched The Imitation Game with Benedict Cumberbatch as Alan Turing – an excellent film and now I want to read more about Turing.

    1. Margaret, I am pleased to hear you also enjoyed Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell, and that it followed the book well. I haven’t read the book, but over a 1,000 pages sounds pretty daunting to me. I think I’ll stick with just the TV show! I haven’t seen The Imitation Game but would definitely like too 🙂

Leave a Reply

