Goodbye July, Hello August 2015

July 2015

Hello my fellow bookworms, I hope you are all well? July has been a month of contrast for me. With days of glorious sunshine to days of rain, and one night there was an almighty thunder-storm. Plus super busy days at the end of the school term to the start of a relaxing and hopefully restorative summer holiday.

Once the holiday started I did enjoy some super lazy days, but I have kept my brain active planning ahead. I am helping a local theatre group run a drama summer club and in August I have volunteered to lead/present a summer club at my church. Plus, as this post goes live, I will be on my way to London for Secret Cinema’s Star Wars event. This month also saw 23 of the ladies from church heading to Moor Hall for a luxury afternoon tea, which was a surprise hen do for a dear friend. Who is getting married in August, something else I have been planning ahead for.

Both my reading and my adaptation watching have been great this month, in quantity and quality. Here is what I managed to read:

Fiction: 4     Non-Fiction: 2     Poetry: 0

I started the month off by finishing Victorian Fairy Tales edited by Michael Newton. An interesting collection of enchanting fairy tales from a selection of well loved, Victorian authors. Many of whom are more well known for writing novels not fairy tales.

Although slow I have made progress on my 10 Books of Summer reading this month. Firstly I read historical, mystery The Miniaturist by Jessie Burton, which had been lent to me by my mother with glowing praise. I thought it was a dark and excellently written mystery, which had me gripped through out. All set within the detailed and immersive setting of 17th century Amsterdam. Then I enjoyed a re-read of The Return of the King by J R R Tolkien; bringing my re-read of the epic The Lord of the Rings to an end. My full thoughts still be posted. That means at the end of the month my total for this event is now 3 books.

The majority of my reading this month has taken me into the past or fantasy land. So I decided to shake things up by going into the future with Hope’s Rebellion by Jade Varden. A gripping, Dystopian, young adult novel which I just sped through.

Alongside these fictions I also read 2 non-fictions. First I read The Praying Woman’s Devotional by Stormie Omartian. An inspiring guide that helped enhance my daily, personal prayer and Bible reading time. Then I read Elizabeth I and Her Circle by Susan Doran; a history of the Elizabethan court. A fascinating book, which gripped me like a novel rather than a non-fiction. My full thoughts still to be posted.

Pick of the Month: I couldn’t possibly pick just one!

That means I have finished reading 6 books, a little more than my normal amount. During the month I also made good progress through Christian, memoir Face to Face with Jesus by Samaa Habib and Bodie Thone. I also started Kidnapped by Robert Louis Stevenson, but I put it aside to start Mansfield Park by Jane Austen; for the Austen in August event.

In August I am looking forward to Secret Cinema’s Star Wars event (today!), my friend’s wedding, the holiday club at my church, and I hope to spend a week with my mother on the south coast. Plus of course more good reading.

What did you do and read in July? Any plans for August?

10 thoughts on “Goodbye July, Hello August 2015

  1. Wow, I hope you’re enjoying London! I have no idea what Secret Cinema is, but I hope you write about it. I’ve just started Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell and am thoroughly enjoying it, but I know it’ll suck up a lot of my August reading time.

    1. Geoff, I had a great time in London thank you 🙂 I would love to write about Secret Cinema, but not sure how much I could tell you; as it’s a secret!

      I hope you enjoy reading Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell. I watched the BBC adaptation and loved it. A little daunted by the length of the book though, so good luck 🙂

  2. Secret cinema — how intriguing! I’ve gotten off track with my 10 books of summer (I’ve read more than 10 books, but they weren’t all on my list) partly because I forgot about Austen in August. I’ve dropped everything now to read Emma. Hope you are enjoying Mansfield Park.

    1. Lory, secret cinema was very intriguing 🙂 I have done exactly the same as you; I have read more than 10 books just not all of them have been off my 10 Books of Summer list! And thank you, I am enjoying Mansfield Park so far. I hope you enjoy Emma.

  3. That’s a great month! And I’m envious of the Star Wars event, even though I have no idea what it entails, lol. But obviously anything Star Wars related is going to be fun, so you will be sure have the most awesome time 🙂

    1. Thank you Mogsy 🙂 The Secret Cinema’s Star Wars event was amazing, and until I got there I didn’t know what it entailed either! When they say secret cinema they mean it 😀

  4. It looks as though you’ve been having a lovely and busy time! The drama group sounds great and the trip to London too – a Star wars event!! I’m doing OK with my 10 books for summer too – I didn’t identify them in my July summary though. I have no plans for August except for my local book group choice for September – Adam Bede.

    Happy reading.

    1. Margaret, the Secret Cinema’s Star Wars event was amazing! And thank you, happy reading to you too! I hope your book group read and the rest of your 10 Books of Summer goes well 🙂

Leave a Reply

