New Books: July 2015 (2)

New Books - July #2

Hello my fellow bookworms, here’s some more goodies I managed to add to my bookshelf and Kindle in July:

City of Heavenly Fire by Cassandra Clare

The Dragonfly Pool by Eva Ibbotson

The House on the Strand by Daphne du Maurier

The Brethren by Robert Merle

I picked up The Dragonfly Pool and The House on the Strand on a trip to my favourite charity bookshop. There by two of my favourite authors, if I see any of their books I just have to get them.  Really looking forward to both of them. While I received a copy of The Brethren from the publishers through a give away, hosted by the lovely Charlie of The Worm Hole. I’ve heard it compared to The Three Musketeers by Alexandre Dumas. Then a family friend lent me City of Heavenly Fire, the final instalment of The Mortal Instruments series. I’ve been waiting a long time to read this, and just look how huge it is!

Acqua Morta by Adam Bane

The Virgin of the Wind Rose by Glen Craney

I was contacted by the authors of crime, thriller Acqua Morta and historical, mystery The Virgin of the Wind Rose. Not authors I had heard of before however I love a good crime/mystery, so I agreed to receive e-copies of both.

Better Relationships, Better Life by Pam Ovwigho

The Salvation of Doctor Who by Matt Rawle

Then I received Christian non-fictions Better Relationships, Better Life and The Salvation of Doctor Who from Netgalley. Again these are not authors I have heard of or read before. I was drawn to them because I would like to build better relationships and I love watching Doctor Who!

Have you read any of these? What new books are you excited about?

10 thoughts on “New Books: July 2015 (2)

  1. Yes, that Clare is quite a book! I hope you enjoy The Brethren; I haven’t read it myself yet, but it’s been promoted fairly well. What I’ve read of the du Maurier (first couple of chapters) is excellent. I look forward to hearing what you thought – of all of them 🙂

  2. I thoroughly enjoyed The House on the Strand – Daphne du Maurier is one of my favourite authors too. I’m intrigued by The Salvation of Doctor Who – what’s that all about? I’m looking forward to reading your review.

    1. Margaret you are the second person to tell me they enjoyed The House on the Strand. I am even more excited to read it now! I am also intrigued by The Salvation of Doctor Who. I just HAD to request it to find out what it is about 🙂

  3. The House on the Strand is one of my favourite Daphne du Maurier books. I hope you enjoy it as much as I did! I read The Brethren last year and am looking forward to reading the second book in the series which I think will be out in September.

    1. Thank you Helen 🙂 It is great to hear the second book to The Brethren series is coming out soon. I hate waiting to continue reading once I’m hooked by a series. Here’s hoping I do get hooked!

Leave a Reply

