New Books: August 2015

New Books - August 2015

Hello my fellow bookworms, here’s the goodies I’ve managed to add to my bookshelf and Kindle in August:

The Railway Children by Edith Nesbit

Five Children and It by Edith Nesbit

The Phoenix and the Carpet by Edith Nesbit

The Story of the Amulet by Edith Nesbit

First I picked up these free classics for my Kindle from Amazon (UK). The Railway Children and Five Children and It are both on my Classics Club list. While I downloaded the other two because they were free, so why not complete Nesbit’s Psammead series?!

The Romanovs by Virginia Cowles

90 Days Through the New Testament by Ron Rhodes

I received these historical and faith non-fictions from Netgalley. These are not authors I have heard of or read before. I was particularly drawn to The Romanovs because last year I loved The Romanov Sisters /Four Sisters by Helen Rappaport, which made me want to read more.

The Wind in the Willows by Kenneth Grahame

Dracula by Bram Stoker

Then I found these two classics in a rummage in a charity shop. I have a feeling I did read The Wind in the Willows as a child, however except for the characters I remember nothing about it. So I popped it on my Classics Club list. While I have read and remember Dracula. It is nice to now have my own copy.

Have you read any of these? What new books are you excited about?

16 thoughts on “New Books: August 2015

    1. Geoff, everyone seems to be looking forward to my thoughts on The Romanovs; including me! It might be the book I’m most excited about reading from this haul. Although I am looking forward to some childhood reminiscing with The Wind in the Willows and Edith Nesbit’s novels too 🙂

  1. I don’t think I’ve read the Railway Children. I love Wind in the Willows (or at least I did) also Dracula is a great gothic read.
    Interested very much in your thoughts on the Romanov book.
    Lynn 😀

    1. Lynn, I am looking forward to all of Nesbit’s novels. I don’t think I have read any of them, but as a child I loved a couple of film and TV adaptations of them. I am also really looking forward to The Romanovs 🙂

  2. I’ve read all the Nesbits — one of my very favorite childhood authors — and The Wind in the Willows — which I read in adulthood and liked, but not as much as the others. I recently read a book about the Romanovs (The Family Romanov) and am now reading one about Shostakovich and the siege of Leningrad (Symphony for the City of the Dead); Russian history is a fascinating though quite horrific subject. Enjoy all your new books!

    1. Thank you Lory 🙂 I am particularly looking forward to reading some of Nesbit’s full, children’s novels, after having read a delightful short-story of hers earlier this year.

      I think “fascinating though quite horrific” sums up perfectly what I have read thus far of Russian history. I can’t wait to read more! Shostakovich and the Siege of Leningrad sounds really interesting. I will be looking forward to seeing your full thoughts on it.

  3. I read The Wind in the Willows as a child but can’t remember much about it either. I also read The Railway Children and The Phoenix and the Carpet and loved both. I keep meaning to re-read some of my favourite childhood classics but never seem to get round to it.

    1. Helen, I sadly didn’t read these as a child. I did enjoy film and TV adaptations of them. I am really looking forward to finally reading them 🙂 I hope you have some time for a few re-reads soon.

Leave a Reply

