Adaptations: August 2015

Adaptations #2

Hello my fellow bookworms and adaptation lovers, here are the adapted films and TV series I watched during August:

Gone Girl (2014)          Not Read     Film     Television
Psychological thriller based on Gillian Flynn’s bestselling novel. Nick Dunne becomes the prime suspect and America’s most hated man overnight. When his wife, Amy, goes missing on their 5th wedding anniversary. Wow…this is one twisted story; gripping but also seriously messed up. With great performances from Ben Affleck and Rosamund Pike. I had to keep watching because I really couldn’t believe what would happen next. And what about that ending?! Great watch (although I don’t think I could put myself through it again).

Ella Enchanted (2004)          Read     Film     Television
Fantasy, family fun, loosely based on Gail Carson Levine’s novel. Ella has been cursed with the ‘gift’ of obedience. With the help of elves, giants, fairies, ogres and a magical book she tries to break the curse and save the prince.  A little cheesy, but a fun and easy watch which cheered me up on a dreary day. With sweet performances from Anne Hathaway and Hugh Dancy. Okay watch.

The Leftovers (2014)          Not Read     TV Series     Television
New American drama with a science-fiction twist, based on Tom Perrotta’s novel. We join the drama 3 years after a global, ‘Rapture’ like, event which saw 140 million people inexplicably disappear. It is a tense and heart-breaking look at the fall out for those that are left behind. Great ensemble cast; including Christopher Eccleston and Liv Tyler. Good watch.

Another good adaptation month. Although less completed I have been watching some longer TV series. I am now about mid-way through the 3rd series of Hannibal, and I’m near the end of the 2nd series of Penny Dreadful. Plus I squeezed in another re-watch of the delightful film, Pride and Prejudice (2005) a happy coincidence for the Austen in August event. I hope to have plenty more to discuss with you in September. With a few series to finish off and brand new Black Sails and the BBC’s drama The Scandalous Lady W still to begin.

Have you watched any of these? What have you been watching recently?

4 thoughts on “Adaptations: August 2015

  1. I read Gone Girl and then watched the movie straight afterwards. The characters are really messed up which I somehow found both fascinating and sick. Now that I’ve finished the book, I’m watching Gone With the Wind right now. In parts, since it’s so long!

    1. Yes Gone Girl is definitely “fascinating and sick”! I haven’t read Gone with the Wind but I love the film. I have it on DVD and it is still has its interval break with music. Plenty of time to go to the toilet and make a cup of tea 🙂

  2. Do you have plans to read Gone Girl? I read it and enjoyed it, but like you was like WHOA. I wasn’t sure how they would adapt it. I feel like most everyone I know has either read it or watched it, but not both.

Leave a Reply

