Challenge: R.eaders I.mbibing P.eril X

R.I.P X Image

(Image used with permission, property of Abigail Larson)

Wow, my fellow bookworms it doesn’t feel 5 seconds since I was saying goodbye to the Once Upon a Time IX event! I seem to have blinked and R.eaders I.mbibing P.eril X has arrived! I eagerly await this event each year as it perfectly embodies Autumn reading for me. This year our hosts are Andi and Heather of The Estella Society.

Through Autumn participants are encouraged to read books and watch films that cover the broad categories of Mystery, Suspense, Thriller, Dark Fantasy, Gothic, Horror and Supernatural.

Books I would like to read off my bookshelf:

City of Heavenly Fire by Cassandra Clare
The Hound of the Baskervilles by Arthur Conan Doyle
Shadow of Night by Deborah Harkness
Jamaica Inn by Daphne du Maurier
Drood by Dan Simmons
Airs Above the Ground by Mary Stewart

Books I would like to read off my Kindle:

Acqua Morta by Adam Bane
Blood on the Bayou D J Donaldson
The Sign of the Four by Arthur Conan Doyle
The Valley of Fear by Arthur Conan Doyle (currently reading)
The Book of Life by Deborah Harkness
The Raven’s Head by Karen Maitland

There are even more books I could choose, but I couldn’t list them all here! R.eaders I.mbibing P.eril X runs from 1st September to 31st October 2015. I have signed up for Peril the First level, which means I am aiming to read 4 books for the event. I am look forward to seeing what I will end up reading.

Are you taking part in R.eaders I.mbibing P.eril X? What are you hoping to read?

15 thoughts on “Challenge: R.eaders I.mbibing P.eril X

  1. I’m also participating this year, let the creepy reading commence 🙂 I really enjoyed Drood and Jamaica Inn, hope you’ll like them. And I’m curious about Harkness’ series as well, they’ve been on my radar for a while. Happy RIP reading!

    1. Thank you Bina 🙂 I read, A Discovery of Witches, the first of Harkness’ series earlier this year. There was more romance than I would have preferred, but I loved the setting, magic and detail of it. So I am looking forward to reading the rest of the series.

      Happy R.I.P reading to you too. As you said; let the creepy reading commence!

  2. Oh, I hadn’t even gotten around to thinking about the e-book possibiltiies. I’m all caught up with the tree-books that I’ve been neglecting. So far I am rereading the first Courtney Crumrin graphic novel (which is just fun: she’s sassy, which takes the edge off of the “dark” bits) and have just begun a Ruth Rendell, but I’m dreaming big. Enjoy your picks!

    1. Thank you 🙂 Ruth Rendell sounds like a perfect choice for this event. Good luck catching up with your neglected books. Perhaps later you will be able to squeeze a few e-books in too.

  3. You have a great list to choose from! Drood, however, is not one of my favourite books – I hope you’ll like it more than I did. But Mary Stewart and Daphne Du Maurier are both favourites and the Conan Doyle books can’t fail.

    I think I’ll just be reading one book for RIP – not sure which one yet.

    1. Thank you Margaret 🙂 I am sorry to hear Drood isn’t one of your favourite books. It has been on my to-be-read pile for too long. I think perhaps the length has, unfairly, been putting me off. However Mary Stewart, Daphne du Maurier, and Arthur Conan Doyle are high on my to read list. Actually I have just finished reading The Valley of Fear 🙂

  4. I thought about putting a Mary Stewart book on my list too, but I think I would prefer to finish her Merlin series before I read another of her suspense novels. I enjoyed Jamaica Inn and I think it would be a perfect choice for R.I.P!

    1. Sounds like a plan Helen. I would love to try Mary Stewart’s Merlin series. Meanwhile Jamaica Inn is high on my list to read, especially as I wasn’t able to get round to it for the 10 Books of Summer challenge. I have wanted to read it for ages!

  5. Drood!!!! one of my favorites!! I’ve read it twice and sure I will read it again! I hope that is one you read.. I will be interested in your review!!!

  6. I was thinking of having taking a break from R.I.P. but I think it may be irresistible. You have some great sounding books on your list – Mary Stewart and Daphne Du Maurier are particular favourites of mine – and I hope you have a wonderful time reading them

Leave a Reply

