Challenge: 10 Books of Summer Wrap Up

10 Books of Summer

Today, 4th September, brings an end to the Books of Summer challenge, hosted by Cathy of 746Books. Many brave people went for 20 books, however I went for the slightly more manageable 10 books.

Here’s the books I managed to read:

  1. The Little Village School by Gervase Phinn – I thought this was a touching and humorous book, which looks into the lives and characters of Barton-in-the-Dale, and a comforting read.
  2. The Miniaturist by Jessie Burton – A gripping and immersive historical mystery set in Amsterdam in the 17th century, which I found very hard to prize myself away from.
  3. The Return of the King by J R R Tolkien – A comforting re-read for me of this emotional and action packed adventure. A fitting end to an enchanting series.
  4. Insurgent by Veronica Roth – An emotionally charged and guilt ridden, roller coaster ride. I whipped through this 2nd instalment in the series. Looking forward to reading Allegiant next.
  5. The Shadowy Horses by Susanna Kearsley – One of my favourite, comfort read authors. This was another immersive tale for me of love, history, mystery and the lost Ninth Legion.
  6. Wyrd Sisters by Terry Pratchett – Currently enjoying a re-read of this light and humorous parody of Macbeth. Again set in Pratchett’s wonderfully, mad Discworld.

Sadly these are the books I didn’t get round too:

  1. Shadow of Night by Deborah Harkness
  2. The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry by Rachel Joyce
  3. Jamaica Inn by Daphne du Maurier
  4. The Martian by Andy Weir

This is my first year taking part and I am pleased with how many books I managed to read. Especially taking into account I read some non-fictions and review copies in between these. Here’s a few, quick meme questions to sum up my reading:

Best: The Return of the King and The Shadowy Horses

Most Recommended-to-Others: The Shadowy Horses

Most Anticipated: The Miniaturist

Most Hilarious: Wyrd Sisters

Most Thrilling, Unputdownable: Insurgent

Most Beautifully Written: The Return of the King

Most Memorable Character: The ever-faithful Samwise Gamgee from The Return of the King, and the hilarious Granny Weatherwax from Wyrd Sisters.

New Series You Discovered: Gervase Phinn’s Barton-in-the-Dale series.

New Authors Discovered: Two new authors, Gervase Phinn and Jessie Burton.

Favourite Cover: The Miniaturist

Did you take part in this event? What was your best read of the summer?

12 thoughts on “Challenge: 10 Books of Summer Wrap Up

    1. DJ, I usually read about 5 books a month. However I read these 6 books over summer, not just one month. Counting the non-fiction, classics and review copies I read in between these. I read 18 books over 3 months. I am rather pleased with that 🙂

      I would love to read The Martian soon. I hope I can make room for it between all my suitable gothic, spooky and mysterious reads for the R.I.P X event.

    1. Thank you JoAnn, and great minds think a like. I have moved Shadow of Night by Deborah Harkness and Jamaica Inn by Daphne du Maurier over to my R.I.P list 🙂 I think they could be great autumn reads.

Leave a Reply

