New Read: The Faith of a Mockingbird

The Faith of a Mockingbird

This year saw the release of Go Set a Watchman, a prequel to Harper Lee’s To Kill a Mockingbird. I enjoyed studying this modern classic at secondary school, but I am not sure I’m interested in the sequel. However I did spot this, The Faith of a Mockingbird by Matt Rawle, Christian non-fiction with links to Harper Lee’s novel and characters. It seemed the perfect year to read it.

Pastor and author Matt Rawle’s aim, through this series of Bible studies, is to show how he sees Christ all around him in books, movies, TV shows, music and pop culture. In this instalment Rawle’s is focusing on the characters, storylines and themes present in Harper Lee’s classic novel; To Kill a Mockingbird. Other instalments include Hollywood Jesus and The Salvation of Doctor Who; the latter of which I also have a copy of.

This book is broken down into chapters focused on Harper Lee’s characters Scout Finch, Atticus Finch, Boo Radley, and Tom Robinson. Through these beloved characters Rawle’s explores Christian faith, theology, and ethics. These are supported with scripture, discussion questions and life experiences. I enjoyed looking at the Christian elements of the characters and their storylines and actions. Sadly being from the UK I don’t think I am the target audience for this book. With To Kill a Mockingbird being an American classic much of the cultural, social and historical background was wasted on me, and needed more explanation than was given. Such a shame as I think this could be a fun and interesting Bible study for small church groups.

Although I was perhaps not the best audience for The Faith of a Mockingbird it was a quick and interesting read. I look forward to reading The Salvation of Doctor Who. As I LOVE Doctor Who and it is British, so it will hopefully be better suited to me. Okay read.

Thank you to the publishers for providing a copy of this book via NetGalley in exchange for my honest opinion.

Have you read this? Noticed any Christian themes in books, movies, TV shows, music and pop culture?

2 thoughts on “New Read: The Faith of a Mockingbird

Leave a Reply

