Re-Read: Wyrd Sisters

Wyrd Sisters

At the end of last year I started to work my way through, from the beginning, books from the epic Discworld series by Terry Pratchett; which between us my father and I own. Next up was a re-read, of one of my favourites, Wyrd Sisters.

In Wyrd Sisters we return to Pratchett’s magic, weird and fantastical Discworld on a dark and stormy night in the kingdom of Lancre. Three witches have met on a wet and wind swept hill. When they are disturbed by a charging carriage. Turns out that King Verence I of Lancre has been murdered this night. Now one loyal servant is bringing fate and the late king’s only son and heir into the witches hands. Generally witches feel they should remain neutral and not meddle in the politics of the land. However they are now to be irrevocably intertwined with the monarchy and the natural order of things.

A murdered king and a meeting of three witches? Yes, you can definitely be forgiven for thinking this seems familiar. Throw into the mix the new ruler Duke Felmet, his domineering wife, the late king’s ghost, the court fool, and a troupe of actors. Then you have Pratchett’s madcap and hilarious take on Macbeth. I had very fond memories of this book and a lot of that had to do with the witches. I think they are my favourite set of characters so far; particularly Granny Weatherwax. Granny is a weather worn, practical and stubborn old woman. Who doesn’t allow anything to put her off. That includes fate and impossibility! She is joined by the equally endearing and hilarious Nanny Ogg and young Magrat.

Terry Pratchett is a well loved author of mine and I was very sad to hear of his passing earlier this year. To me the best way to do him tribute is to read and share all his wonderful books. Wyrd Sisters is the 7th Discworld novel I have read, the 6th published, although I haven’t read them in any particular order before. I don’t believe this is a series you necessarily have to read in order. The stories often follow various different characters; in this case the witches. A fellow Pratchett fan once recommended, to help new readers daunted by the size of the series, to read by characters; which I thought was a great idea. I look forward to continuing to read this series. The next instalment we own is Pyramids.

Wyrd Sisters was a wonderfully theatrical, fun and hilarious adventure; and a really comforting re-read. Great read.

Have you read this? Which is your favourite Discworld adventures?

17 thoughts on “Re-Read: Wyrd Sisters

  1. I’ve heard that, too, that reading by character works (I know people said don’t skip to #40 from #7 when I asked). I didn’t catch the Shakespeare in this book when I read it, but I’ll always remember the first conversation about days for meeting.

  2. Jessica – thank you so much – this sound perfect for me. I’m always wondering which Pratchett to read and frankly there are so many to choose from that it’s a bit daunting. This is it!
    Ta
    Lynn 😀

  3. The witches are so much fun–and reading by character is great advice for Discworld! I recently recommended Wyrd Sisters to my high school Shakespeare teacher. She’s never read Pratchett, and this seemed like the ideal place for her to start…

  4. I love the witches! Wyrd Sisters is hilarious, always good for a reread. I read by characters as well, atm I have the first two Tiffany Aching books out from the library. The wee free men are grand 🙂

Leave a Reply

