Adaptations: September 2015

Adaptations

Hello my fellow bookworms and adaptation lovers, here are the adapted films and TV series I have watched this month:

Around the World in 80 Days (1989)          Read     TV Series     Television
A three-part family adventure based on Jules Verne’s classic novel. English gentleman, Phileas Fogg, takes a bet that he can travel around the world in just 80 days. This adaptation changes the route somewhat, throws in some more drama, and some famous faces too; but it is all in good fun. Peirce Brosnan makes a charming Fogg and Eric Idle a very amusing Passepartout. Okay watch.

Penny Dreadful (2015)          Read     TV Series     Television
The 2nd series of this chilling thriller, which draws upon the characters of Oscar Wilde’s, Bram Stoker’s and Mary Shelley’s classic, horror novels. Miss Ives and her friends are still not safe. This time they find themselves the prey of a coven of powerful witches. Another lavish, gory, sexy and grotesque series. With a strong ensemble cast; including Eva Green, Timothy Dalton and Josh Hartnett. Good watch.

The Scandalous Lady W (2015)          Not Read     TV Film     Television
BBC’s sumptuous and raunchy, true life drama; inspired by Lady Worsley’s Whim by Hallie Rubenhold. In 1781 Lady Worsley caused the scandal of the age, by daring to leave her husband for her lover; Captain Bissett. The ensuring court case airs all the sordid details of their failed marriage to the world. I loved the history and the drama of it. The beautiful Natalie Dormer takes the lead, with Shaun Evans as her husband and Aneurin Barnard as her lover. Great watch.

Hannibal (2015)          Not Read     TV Series     Television
The 3rd series of this psychological thriller, based on characters and elements of Thomas Harris’ Red Dragon. Will Graham and the FBI are not to have any rest. First they must hunt down Hannibal in Italy and then a new killer comes on the scene. A gorgeously grotesque series, which is even more gory and surreal than ever before. Still very watchable with great performances by Hugh Dancy and Mads Mikkelsen. Great watch.

Another good adaptation month, in which I have finished watching some longer TV series I have had recorded for a while. I still have plenty more recorded though! I am currently watching Sky’s new series Zoo, that is based on the novel by James Patterson and Michael Ledwidge. While I still have Black Sails to start watching. Plus I have the BBC’s new TV films Lady Chatterley’s Love and An Inspector Calls; both of which I am super excited to watch. I look forward to sharing my thoughts on some of these with you next month.

Have you watched any of these? What have you been watching recently?

2 thoughts on “Adaptations: September 2015

  1. I always look forward to your monthly post. I didn’t know there was an adaptation of Around the World in 80 days with Pierce Brosnan and Eric Idle! I’m going to track it down. I watched the first episode of S1 of Penny Dreadful, but I haven’t had time to go back to it. Maybe Fall is a good time to catch up.

    1. Thank you I am glad you enjoy these posts 🙂 I didn’t realise this adaptation of Around the World existed either! I randomly came across it on the Drama channel and watched all 3 episodes in a row one afternoon. I think Penny Dreadful could make a great autumn watch 🙂

Leave a Reply

