New Read: What’s So Great About the Doctrines of Grace?

Whats So Great About the Doctrines of Grace

Mid-way through September I found my anxiety heightened; probably from a combination of darker weather, illness and a change in routine. I sought comfort in What’s So Great About the Doctrines of Grace? by Richard D Phillips.

In six short chapters the Reverend Richard D Phillips explains the doctrines of grace; also known as the five points of Calvinism. These are Total depravity, Unconditional election, Limited atonement, Irresistible grace, and Perseverance of the saints (TULIP). This is not really what I thought this book would be about, as Calvinism is not something I have heard or read anything about before. However I found this to be a good, short introduction to Calvinism and the theology.

I went into this book looking for comfort and inspiration. I did find some inspiration but less comfort. At first the terminology, i.e. total depravity and unconditional election, seemed a little daunting, and the book is heavy on theology. I think Phillips described the doctrines of grace really well but often cross referenced other theology I knew nothing about. I found the theology interesting yet it wasn’t as relatable as other Christian non-fiction I have read this year; which had more anecdotes and personal experience in them.

What’s So Great About the Doctrines of Grace? was a quick and interesting read for me. If you are looking for a clear and concise explanation of the Doctrines of Grace/the five points of Calvinism this could be good for you. Not quite what I was looking for. Okay read.

Have you read this? Have you read about the Doctrines of Grace?

4 thoughts on “New Read: What’s So Great About the Doctrines of Grace?

Leave a Reply

