Challenge: Women’s Classic Literature Event

Blog - Women's Classic Literature EventMy fellow bookworms, I was really pleased to spot this event being announced on The Classics Club. This is more a celebration than a “reading challenge.”. A way for us to read more women from the canon or to discover those long lost titles, and share our thoughts and excitement about them.

Here are the great female authors and their works I still have to read off my Classics Club list:

  • Agnes Grey by Anne Brontë
  • The Tenant of Wildfel Hall by Anne Brontë
  • The Professor by Charlotte Brontë
  • Villette by Charlotte Brontë
  • Cranford by Elizabeth Gaskell
  • North and South by Elizabeth Gaskell
  • Wives and Daughters by Elizabeth Gaskell
  • Five Children and It by E Nesbit
  • The Railway Children by E Nesbit

This event runs from now to 31st December 2016. There will be 5 check-ins for us to share what we’ve been reading with each other. The first in January 2016 then April, July, October and December. I am looking forward to what I will read.

Are you taking part in this event? What would you like to read? Are there any of my choices that you think I simply must read?

18 thoughts on “Challenge: Women’s Classic Literature Event

    1. Brona the buzz has been great hasn’t it? Sadly I’ve just finished reading Austen’s novels but you’re right this is a time to binge on all the great female authors 🙂

  1. I’ll be taking part in this too and should have my post ready later in the week. You have some great books on your list! I enjoyed all of the Bronte novels, especially The Tenant of Wildfell Hall. I loved The Railway Children as a child and now I’m wondering if I should add some children’s classics to my list too. 🙂

    1. I am pleased to hear you will be taking part too Helen and thank you 🙂 I am looking forward to reading all these books. I have particularly heard great things about The Tenant of Wildfell Hall. I would definitely recommend adding some children’s classics to your list. I’ve found having a couple of lighter reads mixed in has really helped me.

  2. I’m joining too!! I very much want to read Gaskell’s Wives & Daughters. HOW EXCITING IS THIS EVENT? 🙂

  3. I’m really excited about this event and seeing it promoted on so many blogs. I haven’t yet decided which books to read, but I know I’ll participate. I have yet to read anything by Elizabeth Gaskell, so she’s on my preliminary list.

  4. Oh oh oh E.Nesbit! So excited to see her on your list,both those books are fantastic! I also have The Professor on my list for this challenge,if you feel like a buddy read let me know!

    Have you read any Noel Streatfeild? She’s one of my absolute favourite children’s writers 🙂

    1. Hello Bex, thank you for stopping by and commenting 🙂 I am excited about reading either books by E Nesbit. I have never read any of her book before, however I grew up enjoying adaptations of these two books on my list.

      I haven’t read anything by Noel Streatfeild. I did think the BBC’s 2007 TV film adaption was rather sweet though 🙂

  5. That’s a lovely list of books. I haven’t read them all but I’d pick out ‘North and South’ and ‘Wives and Daughters’ as books that I really love and hope you’ll love too. I recall that both of the television adaptations are wonderful, and true to the source material. so you could really have a Gaskell-fest!

    I gave up my Classics Club list when I moved blogs, but this event really has me thinking I should pick up the threads again.

    1. Jane I really like the sound of a “Gaskell-fest”! I am really looking forward to finally reading anything by Elizabeth Gaskell because I have heard such good things about her books. Plus I love a good adaptation too 🙂

Leave a Reply

