Challenge: Women’s Classic Literature Event (Survey)

Blog - Women's Classic Literature Event  I signed up for this event last week, however just after my post went out this survey was released to help get this event on the road. So I thought I would do a separate post for it.

1) Introduce yourself. Tell us what you are most looking forward to in this event.

Hello my name is Jessica and I joined The Classics Club back in March 2012. In this event I am most looking forward to reading the great female authors and their works I still have on my list.

2) Have you read many classics by women? Why or why not?

I have read quite a few classics by women. Many of my favourite classics are written by women. When I made my list I was careful to make sure there was a good amount of women as well as men.

3) Pick a classic female writer you can’t wait to read for the event, & list her date of birth, her place of birth, and the title of one of her most famous works.

I am really looking forward to reading Elizabeth Gaskell who was born on the 29th September 1810 in Chelsea, London. Her most famous work probably has to be Cranford or North and South; both of which are on my list.

4) Think of a female character who was represented in classic literature by a male writer. Does she seem to be a whole or complete woman? Why or why not? Tell us about her. (Without spoilers, please!)

Gloria, the beautiful socialite, from The Beautiful and Damned. by F Scott Fitzgerald is a spoilt girl who cares only for being admired, loved and surrounded by beautiful things. I believe she is a complete woman/character even if she is a rather unpleasant one.

5) Favourite classic heroine? (Why? Who wrote her?)

My favourite classic heroine has to be Elinor Dashwood from Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen. Elinor is loving, patient, practical and stoic. I particularly admire how she conceals her own pain to support and comfort her sister.

6) Recommend three books by classic female writers to get people started in this event.

  1. Wuthering Heights by Emily Brontë
  2. Little Women by Louisa May Alcott
  3. Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen

7) Will you be joining us for this event immediately, or will you wait until the new year starts?

Immediately!

8) Do you plan to read as inspiration pulls, or will you make out a preset list?

I will read as inspiration pulls but will use the titles I have left on my list to guide me:

  • Agnes Grey by Anne Brontë
  • The Tenant of Wildfel Hall by Anne Brontë
  • The Professor by Charlotte Brontë
  • Villette by Charlotte Brontë
  • Cranford by Elizabeth Gaskell
  • North and South by Elizabeth Gaskell
  • Wives and Daughters by Elizabeth Gaskell
  • Five Children and It by E Nesbit
  • The Railway Children by E Nesbit

Plus I have three of Daphne du Maurier’s books on my to-be-read pile which I feel will be great for this event too.

9) Are you pulling to any particular genres? (Letters, journals, biographies, short stories, novels, poems, essays, etc?)

I will mostly be reading novels but I do also enjoy short story collections.

10) Are you pulling to a particular era or location in literature by women?

My list is mainly made up of pre 20th century novels written and/or set in England.

11) Do you hope to host an event or read-a-long for the group? No worries if you don’t have details. We’re just curious!

I have no plans to host an event or read-a-long.

12) Is there an author or title you’d love to read with a group or a buddy for this event? Sharing may inspire someone to offer.

I don’t tend to read in groups or with buddies. I find I’m best reading at my own pace and on my own I don’t feel guilty when I get distracted!

13) Share a quote you love by a classic female author — even if you haven’t read the book yet.

“Be with me always – take any form – drive me mad! Only do not leave me in this abyss, where I cannot find you! Oh, God! it is unutterable! I can not live without my life! I can not live without my soul!”

Wuthering Heights by Emily Brontë

14) Finally, ask the question you wish this survey had asked, & then answer it – What book would you like to kick this event off with?

I think I’m most drawn to Jamaica Inn by Daphne du Maurier.

10 thoughts on “Challenge: Women’s Classic Literature Event (Survey)

  1. I really quite like the idea of taking part in this. I actually need to review my list because I’ve not done well at all this year – started 3 books and not finished them!
    Lynn 😀

  2. I am keen to read more Daphne du Maurier with this event. Thank you for quoting Emily Bronte and reminding me of a quote I like where Kathy is describing her love for Heathcliffe.

  3. Daphne du Maurier is one of my favourite authors so I think Jamaica Inn will be a good book for you to start off with. 🙂 I love the Emily Bronte quote – I’m hoping to re-read Wuthering Heights for the event as I haven’t read it for years.

  4. Great Emily Bronte quote. I need to reread Wuthering Heights. 🙂 And goodness, I love Elinor too.

    This is so much fun! 🙂

Leave a Reply

